2008 Minnesota Chapter National Wrestling Hall of Fame

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame honored eight Individuals at The Minnesota Chapter Banquet on April 12, 2008 at the Holiday Inn and Suites in Owatonna, Minn.

2008 Honorees:

Outstanding American

Jim Kamman
, a native of Grand Rapids, MN, and former NCAA National Champion from The University of Michigan will receive the Outstanding American Award, from the state of Minnesota. Jim has been an outstanding IRS tax attorney in the United States Tax Court, civil and criminal tax fraud, refund litigation, and collection medals. Jim, was one of only nine in the Chief Counsel Office. Jim, also earned The Distinguished Flying Cross and fifteen Air Medals with The U.S. Marine Corps in a tour of duty in Vietnam.

State Courage Award

Allan Goeden, of Grand Rapids, MN, will receive the State Courage Award. Allan a former standout wrestler from Staples High School, Itasca Community College, andMoorhead State University, where he earned MVW honors, and a NIC title. Paralyzed below the waist in a hunting accident, Allan turned back adversity, and is an outstanding youth, high school and MN/USA Wrestling freestyle and Greco-Roman coach, and earned the Dan Drinkwine Coach of The Year Award in 2005. Allan also had been a leader in The Boy Scouts of America and earned the Silver Beaver Award, and has served on its board of directors for the past twenty Years.

The following six individuals were presented with Lifetime Service Awards:

Dave Arens

Dave gave twenty-four years of outstanding coaching to the sport of wrestling. Coaching at Jordan and Bloomington Kennedy High School, Dave was one of the state’s most successful coaches. His Bloomington Kennedy teams won Minnesota state team championships in 1980 and 1984. Dave coached Olympic and World Team members Marty Morgan, John Morgan, Gordy Morgan, and Chuck Vavrosky, along with numerous NCAA Division I All-Americans.

Dave earned MWCA State Coach of The Year and MWCA Hall of Fame Induction.

Robert Board

Bob Board of Coon Rapids, member of the University of Minnesota’s 1957 Big 10 Championship squad, had an outstanding thirty-six year coaching career.

Thirty-four of those years at Coon Rapids High School, resulted in a nifty 365-141-3 mark. He also coached at Winona and Minneapolis Vocational High Schools. Eight of Bob’s wrestlers gained All-American collegiate honors. Bob coached three individual state champions and twenty-six state place winners at Coon Rapids. He earned State Coach of The Year honors in 1997, an MWCA Hall of fame induction, and served on the State Tournament Committee for twenty years.

George Graff

A long-time coach at Morris Area High School, George has given forty years to the sport of wrestling. A native of Grand Rapids, MN, George was a member of their state runner up team in 1961. George’s teams produced a 117-85 mark, and produced a pair of All-Americans, including national champion Tom Beyer.

A tireless worker for The MWCA, George is “The Heart and Soul” of The MWCA Scholarship Committee as it’s Chairman for the past fifteen years which provides four scholarships annually at $1500 each. George, also a MWCA Hall of Fame Member, served as a Section Rep and Coordinator for twenty years. George was also the pitching coach for the softball team that produced a number of outstanding pitchers and the 1991 state runner up team.

Frank Heulskamp

Frank, who resides in Brooklyn Center, was a pioneer of over thirty years as a contributor and coach to the sport of wrestling. Frank conducted many rules clinics for officials and was the first Rules Coordinator for the Minnesota State High School League, along with Don Meyers in 1958, serving through 1977.

Frank wrestled for the University of Minnesota Farm School in 1947, and was also a welterweight Golden Gloves boxing champion in 1950. Frank started the Mankato High School Wrestling Program at age 18 in 1947-48, and also started one at Crosby-Ironton. Frank also assisted at The University of Minnesota under Wally Johnson and coached at Macalester the same year. He also coached six seasons at University High. A former AD and Coach at Brooklyn Center and Fridley, he was recently named the number one realtor for Coldwell Banker Burnet.

Terry Haws

At the time of his death, Terry Haws was the winningest coach in Minnesota with 246 wins. His teams produced six state titles at St. Cloud Cathedral High School and St. James High School. At the time of his death in 1973, Terry’s teams at St. John’s University were in the midst of a 51-win match streak.

Terry was selected as the 1972 National College Catholic Coach of The Year. Terry coached seventeen individual national Catholic champions, andNAIA national champions including Gary Svendson. His coaching record was 246-59-4. Terry served his country in WW II fighting in Europe and landing on a Normandy Beach on D-Day. Terry was in his twenty-fifth year of coaching in 1973 at the time of his death. He touched a lot of lives. Over 1000 people attended his funeral, including 26 priests.

Spencer Yohe

Yohe, a 1968 graduate of Caledonia High School and 1972 Winona State grad, is giving back to the sport for his thirty-seventh year. Yohe, entering his eighth hall of fame, had coaching stints at Hancock High School (1974-86, 120-32-2 mark), which produced five state-ranked top-ten teams for the small community, Hancock/Cyrus, University of Minnesota Morris, Minnesota State Moorhead, Morris Area/Hancock, and is currently a junior high coach at Caledonia/Houston.

Yohe coached eight international teams that competed and toured in nineteen different countries. Yohe has coached twenty-five All-Americans, and twelve Academic All-Americans, including NCAA Division II OW and national champion Nate Hendrickson, as John Sterner’s Assistant Head Coach/Recruiting Coordinator. Yohe also was awarded Winona State’s Presidential Medallion in 2002. He resides in Eitzen, MN.

All eight individuals will be permanently enshrined at The National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?