Ness named MWCA Mr. Minnesota of Wrestling; Shorts named Coach of the Year

Dylan Ness of Bloomington Kennedy is this year’s Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) Mr. Minnesota of Wrestling. He will be honored at the Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, April 24th at the Willmar Holiday Inn.

The Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association annually presents the Mr. Minnesota High School Wrestler award to the senior that best exemplifies the highest ideals of high school wrestling in Minnesota. Judging is based on past performances, citizenship, academics, leadership, and adherence to MSHSL rules.

Dylan Ness

Dylan Ness

Ness is a 2010 state champion and a four-time placewinner. He won the Class AAA 145 pound title this year. Dylan placed third at 140 pounds as a junior, third at 119 pounds as a sophomore, and third at 103 pounds as a freshman.

He ended his high school career with a 192-19 record and was a dominating 169-6 in his last four seasons.

Ness has also had great success in USA Wrestling competition.

He was an All-American in all three styles (folkstyle, Greco-Roman, and freestyle) in 2009 placing first in folkstyle, second in Greco-Roman, and seventh in freestyle.

Dylan won the prestigious Cadet Triple Crown in 2008. It is awarded to wrestlers who win USA Wrestling national titles in folkstyle, Greco-Roman and freestyle during the same year. He was also named Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament after winning his freestyle national title in Fargo.

Ness, Bloomington Kennedy’s second MWCA Mr. Minnesota Wrestler, will continue his wrestling career in college next year with the Minnesota Gophers.

Dylan’s older brother Jayson, was a 2010 NCAA Champion and four-time All-American with the Golden Gophers.

Dylan’s parents are Jay and Sally and his coach is Charles Vavrosky.

Also being honored at the Bartelma Hall of Fame Banquet will be Minnesota Head Coach of the Year selection Jim Short and Will Short of Simley, Assistant Coach of the Year Dwight Burman of St. James, and Lifetime Achievement honorees Tom Gruhlke of BOLD and Wayne Weller of New York Mills.

The Shorts and Burman, along with Ness now represent Minnesota as The National Wrestling Coaches Association’s State award winners and may be selected for further honors at the Regional and National levels.

2010 Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame inductees are Jim Anderson, Dale Benjamin, Tom Beyer, Stan Christ, Brandon Paulson, Ken Vogt, and Vik Wilson.

MWCA Mr. Minnesota Wrestlers:
2010 – Dylan Ness, Bloomington Kennedy
2009 – Kevin Steinhaus, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg
2008 – Jake Deitchler, Anoka
2007 – Zach Sanders, Wabasha-Kellogg
2006 – Mike Thorn, Saint Michael-Albertville
2005 – Nate Matousek, Glencoe-Silver Lake
2004 – Charlie Falck, Apple Valley
2003 – Eric Sanders, Wabasha-Kellogg
2002 – Jeff Pfaffinger, Blue Earth Area
2001 – Marcus LeVesseur, Bloomington Kennedy
2000 – Nate Baker, Jackson County Central
1999 – Jacob Volkmann, Battle Lake-Underwood-Henning
1998 – Luke Becker, Cambridge-Isanti
1997 – Chad Erikson, AppleValley
1996 – Dan Duncombe, St. Michael-Albertville
1995 – Jon Fitzgerald, Martin County West
1994 – Chad Kraft, Heron Lake-Okabena-Lakefield
1993 – Brandon Howe, Totino Grace
1992 – Brandon Paulson, Anoka
1991 – Chad Nelson, Stewartville
1990 – Chad Carlson, Willmar

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.