South Dakota State at Nebraska Triangular

SDSU competes at Nebraska

November 27, 2010

LINCOLN, Neb. – The South Dakota State wrestling team went 0-2 at the Nebraska Triangular Saturday in Lincoln, Neb.

The Jackrabbits faced Bucknell (Pa.) in the first dual of the day at the Nebraska Triangular, hosted by Nebraska. The Jacks dropped the dual 3-38. Senior Kevin Kelly was the only Jack to notch a win over the Bison for the Jacks. The heavyweight defeated Conor Sweeny 6-3.

Against no. 22 Nebraska, the Jacks dropped the dual 6-36. Nebraska boasts three ranked wrestlers in no. two Jordan Burroughs, no. 10 Josh Ihnen and no. nine Tucker Lane.
Aaron Pickrel and Tony Vaske each picked up wins against the Cornhuskers. Pickrel found a win in the 125-pound division with a 3-0 victory over Shawn Nagel, while 141-pounder Vaske picked up a win over Mike Koehnlei, 13-8.

The Jacks are back in action Dec. 12 with the Jackrabbit Triangular featuring Northern State and Southern Illinois-Edwardsville. The meet will benefit the Jackrabbit Wrestling Endowment with 100 percent of the ticket sales directly funding the endowment. For more information on the Jackrabbit Triangular, stay tuned to

Bucknell 38, South Dakota State 3
125: Reber (BU) wins by decision over Aaron Pickrel (SDSU), 10-4
133: Alex Pellicciotti (BU) wins by forfeit
141: Hancock (BU) wins by major decision over Tony Vaske (SDSU), 16-6
149: #5 Levalley (BU) wins by tech fall over Jimmy Hamilton (SDSU), 17-0
157: Hooks (BU) wins by decision over Nick Flynn (SDSU), 6-3
165: Lear (BU) wins by decision over John Nething II (SDSU), 8-5
174: Thompson (BU) wins by major decision over Seth Moe (SDSU), 11-0
184: McMullan (BU) wins by decision over David Michaud (SDSU), 12-5
197: Hahn (BU) wins by forfeit
Hwt: Kevin Kelly (SDSU) wins by decision over Sweeney (BU), 6-3

Nebraska 36, South Dakota State 6
125: Aaron Pickrel (SDSU) by decision over Shawn Nagel (NU), 3-0 (SDSU 3, NU 0)
133: Ridge Kiley (NU) by forfeit (NU 6, SDSU 3)
141: Tony Vaske (SDSU) by decision over Mike Koehnlein (NU), 13-8 (SDSU 6, NU 6)
149: Ross Grande (NU) by decision over Andrew Youngblom (SDSU), 4-1 (NU 9, SDSU 6)
157: Tyler Koehn (NU) by decision over Nick Flynn (SDSU), 7-3 (NU 12, SDSU 6)
165: Jordan Burroughs (NU) by fall over John Nething II (SDSU), 4:02 (NU 18, SDSU 6)
174: Caleb Kolb (NU) by decision over David Michaud (SDSU), 10-3 (NU 21, SDSU 6)
184: #10 Josh Ihnen (NU) by forfeit (NU 27, SDSU 6)
197: Andy Johnson (NU) by forfeit (NU 33, SDSU 6)
Hwt: Tucker Lane (NU) by decision over Kevin Kelly (SDSU), 4-0 (NU 36, SDSU 6)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?