Southwest Minnesota State 18, Morningside 18

SMSU Wrestling Fights to an 18-18 Draw with Morningside College

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (1-0-1) opened the 2010-11 home season with a draw against the No. 16 ranked NAIA member Morningside College (Iowa) (2-0-1) tonight at the PE Gym in Marshall. The Mustangs found themselves behind 18-15 heading into the final match of the evening at 285 pounds, before SMSU’s Todd Klemz came away with an 11-7 decision over Tyler Thompson to tie the meet 18-18.

The Mustangs fell behind early after 125-pounder Seife Kenea was pinned at 1:27 of the first period by Kory Kistner giving the Morningside Mustangs a 6-0 lead. The Mustangs fired right back when Justin Reinsma picked up a pin for SMSU at 4:48 to win at 133 pounds.

Ethan Hildebrandt dropped a 5-2 decision to Drew Smith at 141 pounds before David Albrecht evened the meet at 9-9 with an 11-4 decision over Justin Truckenmiller.

Southwest Minnesota State found itself behind by nine points at 18-9 before rallying off to win the next three matches. The rally began at 184 pounds when senior CD Johnson came away with a 10-7 decision over John Sievert. Martin Hagen followed that up with a 6-2 decision over Jake Parker at 197 pounds evening the score to 6-6.

Heading into the final match of the evening heavyweight Todd Klemz was looking for the pin early but just missed ending the match. He eventually came away with an 11-7 decision to tie the score 18-18 ending the season opener with a draw.

The Mustangs (1-0-1) will pick up action this weekend when they travel to Moorhead, Minn. to compete in the Dragon Open. The open is set to begin at 9 a.m. on Saturday.

Southwest Minnesota State 18, Morningside 18
125: Kory Kistner (MC) def. Seife Kenea (SMSU) fall, 1:27
133: Justin Reinsma (SMSU) def. Jake McManigal (MC), fall, 4:48
141: Drew Smith (MC) def. Ethan Hildebrandt (SMSU), 5-2 decision
149: David Albrecht (SMSU def. Justin Truckenmiller, 11-4 decision
157: Ben Knight (MC) def. Jake Begin (SMSU), 8-3 decision team
165: Joe Sievert (MC) def. Travis Frederiksen (SMSU), 3-0 decision
174: Jared Wildeboer (MC) def. Zach Coates (SMSU), 7-3 decision
184: CD Johnson (SMSU) def. John Sievert (MC), 10-7 decision
197: Martin Hagen (SMSU) def. Jake Parker (MC), 6-2 decision
285: Todd Klemz (SMSU def. Tyler Thompson (MC), 11-7 decision

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?