Air Force 22, North Dakota State 19

Bison Drop Close Contest to Air Force, 22-19

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Air Force wrestling team snapped an eight match losing streak to North Dakota State with a 22-19 win in Western Wrestling Conference action on Friday, Jan. 28. No. 10-ranked 141-pounder Cole Von Ohlen’s pin in the final bout of the day clinched the win for the Falcons. The Bison are now 7-3 overall and 1-2 in the WWC. Air Force improves to 9-2 overall and 1-0 in the WWC.

Sophomore Mark Erickson gave the Bison an early lead with a 7-5 decision over Josh Kreimier at 149 pounds. A takedown with 35 seconds remaining in the second period was enough to give Erickson the win. At 157 pounds, Vince Salminen’s two minutes and 31 seconds of riding time proved to be the difference in a 5-4 win over Alec Williams for the Bison senior.

Air Force bounced back with two straight wins of its own at 165 and 174 pounds. Clayton Gable won a 12-4 major decision over junior Tyler Johnson at 165 pounds and Joseph Stafford earned a five-point technical fall over sophomore Mac Stoll at 174 pounds, 16-1, to give the Falcons a 9-6 lead.

Senior Kenny Moenkedick responded with a major decision of his own at 184 pounds. He shut out Kazden Ikehara, 9-0, thanks to two takedowns and a three-point near fall. Junior Drew Ross increased the Bison lead to 13-9 with a 4-1 decision over Neil Delaney at 197 pounds.

Air Force won three of the final four bouts, beginning with a Jared Erickson decision win over Will Johnson at heavyweight. No. 17 Trent Sprenkle pinned Tyler Spangler in 4:42 for his seventh straight win at 125 pounds. His win gave the Bison a 19-12 lead in the match.

The Falcons claimed big wins in the final two bouts at 133 and 141 pounds. Derek Gillespie won an 11-3 major decision over Justin Solberg at 133 pounds and a pin of Trevor Johnson at 141 pounds by Von Ohlen cemented the win for the home side.

The Bison continue their road trip with a dual at No. 25 Wyoming at 2 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 30.

Air Force 22, North Dakota State 19
149 – Mark Erickson (NDSU) dec. Josh Kreimier, 7-5
157 – Vince Salminen (NDSU) dec. Alec Williams, 5-4
165 – Clayton Gable (AF) maj. dec. Tyler Johnson, 12-4
174 – Joseph Stafford (AF) tech fall Mac Stoll, 16-1 (7:00)
184 – Kenny Moenkedick (NDSU) maj. dec. Kazden Ikehara, 9-0
197 – Drew Ross (NDSU) dec. Neil Delaney, 4-1
285 – Jared Erickson (AF) dec. Will Johnson, 2-0
125 – No. 17 Trent Sprenkle (NDSU) fall Tyler Spangler, 4:42
133 – Derek Gillespie (AF) maj. dec. Justin Solberg, 11-3
141 – No. 10 Cole VonOhlen (AF) fall Trevor Johnson, 1:48

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?