Bison go 4-0 at Wolfpack Duals

RALEIGH, N.C. – North Dakota State posted a 4-0 record at the Wolfpack Duals hosted by North Carolina State on Saturday, Jan. 8.  The Bison improve to 6-1 in duals and won every bout they entered a wrestler in the first three matches of the day.  NDSU opened with a 45-6 win over Mercyhurst and followed up with a 49-6 victory over Campbell.  The Bison then defeated Anderson 46-6 and ended the day with a 27-18 win over host North Carolina State.

No. 18 sophomore 125-pounder Trent Sprenkle recorded three pins and a technical fall to lead four Bison with 4-0 records. Junior Justin Solberg at 133 pounds, senior Kenny Moenkedick at 184 pounds and junior Drew Ross at 197 pounds also went 4-0.  Redshirt freshman Trevor Johnson went 3-0 at 141 pounds, while fellow redshirt freshman Steven Monk was 2-0 at 165 pounds.

Against Mercyhurst, the Bison captured five of their nine win by fall.  Sprenkle opened with a pin of T.J. Stanton in 3:48 and Solberg followed up with a pin of his own of Levi Smeltzer in 5:28.  Sophomore Mark Erickson recorded a pin of Shane Foster in 2:51 at 149 pounds and Monk then pinned Clint Schaefer in 1:53.  Ross pinned Michael Pollard in 2:40 at 197 pounds.  The Bison forfeited the heavyweight bout in all four duals.

The Bison continued their strong performance against Campbell, winning seven of nine by fall.  Sprenkle, Erickson and Ross all picked up their second pins of the day.  No. 16 Vince Salminen pinned Jake Fose in 3:44 at 157 pounds.  In his first action of the day, junior Tyler Johnson pinned Joel Caudill in 1:05 at 165 pounds.  Sophomore Mac Stoll won by fall at 174 pounds as did Kenny Moenkedick at 184 pounds.

Against Anderson, Sprenkle earned his third straight pin.  Senior Geoff Martin and sophomore Tyler Wells both picked up wins in their first bouts of the day.  Martin defeated Ian Harper by technical fall, 27-12, at 141 pounds and Wells pinned Brian Onofrio in 3:38 at 165 pounds.

Sprenkle again opened strong against North Carolina State, earning a technical fall win, 26-11, over Pedram Rahmatabadi. Solberg shut out Conor Hovis at 133 pounds, 11-0.  After a forfeit win at 141 pounds by Trevor Johnson, the Bison dropped their first bout of the day as No. 1 Darrion Caldwell pinned Erickson in 45 seconds. Salminen then lost his first bout of the day in a 13-6 decision to Colton Palmer.  The Bison bounced back to win the next four straight bouts to clinch the 27-18 win.

NDSU will host Northern Iowa on Friday, Jan. 14 at 7 p.m. to open Western Wrestling Conference action.

North Dakota State 45, Mercyhurst 6
125 – Trent Sprenkle (NDS) pinned T.J. Stanton at 3:48
133 – Justin Solberg (NDS) pinned Levi Smeltzer at 5:28
141 – Trevor Johnson (NDS) dec. Tony D’Urso, 4-1
149 – Mark Erickson (NDS) pinned Shane Foster at 2:51
157 – Vince Salminen (NDS) dec. Jordan Shields, 4-1
165 – Steve Monk (NDS) pinned Clint Schaefer at 1:53
174 – Mac Stoll (NDS) won by forfeit
184 – Ken Moenkedick (NDS) dec. Londele Cox, 6-0
197 – Drew Ross (NDS) pinned Michael Pollard at 2:40
Hwt – Nathan Sharp (MC) won by forfeit

North Dakota State 49, Campbell 6
125 – Trent Sprenkle (NDS) pinned Tanner Biedelspach at 3:34
133 – Justin Solberg (NDS) dec. Gabriel Gardner, 5-1
141 – Trevor Johnson (NDS) major dec. Brad Merriman, 15-2
149 – Mark Erickson (NDS) pinned Darien Peele at 3:40
157 – Vince Salminen (NDS) pinned Jake Fose at 3:44
165 – Tyler Johnson (NDS) pinned Joel Caudill at 1:05
174 – Mac Stoll (NDS) pinned Justin Sparrow at 2:53
184 – Ken Moenkedick (NDS) pinned Peter Comis at 2:59
197 – Drew Ross (NDS) pinned John Merickel at 1:23
Hwt – Parker Burns (CU) won by forfeit

North Dakota State 46, Anderson 6
125 – Trent Sprenkle (NDS) pinned Andrew Rankin at 4:35
133 – Justin Solberg (NDS) major dec. Joseph Perry, 9-0
141 – Geoff Martin (NDS) technical fall Ian Harper, 27-12
149 – Mark Erikson (NDS) major dec. Dalton Harper, 11-3
157 – Vince Salminen (NDS) pinned Nick Giulietti at 1:30
165 – Tyler Wells (NDS) pinned Brian Onofrio at 3:38
174 – Mac Stoll (NDS) dec. Trevor Sanford, 9-6
184 – Ken Moenkedick (NDS) pinned Sean O’Connell at 2:22
197 – Drew Ross (NDS) injury default Zoi Oulette at 1:34
Hwt – Chase Duke (AU) won by forfeit

North Dakota State 27, NC State 18
125 – Trent Sprenkle (NDS) technical fall Pedram Rahmatabadi, 26-11 (4 pts)
133 – Justin Solberg (NDS) major dec. Conor Hovis, 11-0
141 – Trevor Johnson (NDS) won by forfeit
149 – Darrion Caldwell (NCS) pinned Mark Erickson at 0:45
157 – Colton Palmer (NCS) dec. Vince Salminen, 13-6
165 – Steven Monk (NDS) pinned Colin Genthert at 2:54
174 – Quinton Godley (NCS) dec. Mac Stoll, 3-2
184 – Ken Moenkedick (NDS) major dec. Nijel Jones, 11-3
197 – Drew Ross (NDS) dec. KaRonne Jones, 10-4
Hwt – Eloheim Pamla (NCS) won by forfeit