Minnesota 25 Indiana 14

Gophers Open Big Ten Season with 25-14 Win

MINNEAPOLIS — In front of thousands of fans and numerous Gopher wrestling alumni, including the 2001 NCAA Championship team, the No. 5 Minnesota wrestling team opened the Big Ten season victoriously on Friday night with a 25-14 win over Indiana.

Indiana at Minnesota

The Gophers (9-3 overall, 1-0 Big Ten) opened the dual with three straight wins including a pair that gave the program bonus points. All-American junior Zach Sanders kicked off the event with a 22-7 five-point technical fall over Justin Brooks in the 125 lbs. bout before redshirt freshman David Thorn scored a come-from behind 7-5 decision in sudden victory over Matt Ortega in the 133 lbs. match. Thorn, who trailed 5-3 in the third period, logged a two-point takedown with four seconds left in the period to force overtime and then tallied another takedown in the extra time frame to put Minnesota up 7-0 after two matches.

All-American senior Mike Thorn made it 13-0 Minnesota when he recorded a pin at 3:49 over Mitchell Richey in the 141 lbs. match for his ninth pin of the season and. The fall improved Mike Thorn’s record to 26-1 on the year and 12-0 in duals. The Hoosiers would eventually get on the scoreboard with a pair of wins in the middleweights. Kurt Kinser scored a 5-0 decision over Danny Zilverberg in the 141 lbs. match and No. 6 Paul Young tallied a 14-6 major decision Joe Grygelko in the 157 lbs. match to make it 13-7 Minnesota.

Cody Yohn ended the brief slide with a 2-0 decision over Ryan LeBlanc in the 165 lbs and then No. 8 Scott Glasser and No. 8 Kevin Steinhaus each followed up major decision victories. Glasser topped Nick Avery 11-3 in the 174 lbs. match and Steinhaus picked up a 10-1 win over Eric Cameron to put the Gophers out in front 25-7.

Indiana would go on to win the final two matches of the dual with a major decision in the 197 lbs. match and a sudden victory win in the heavyweight contest, but by then the dual was out of reach as the Gophers held on to pick up the 25-14 win.

Notes: Minnesota honored the 2001 NCAA Championship team during tonight’s match as the program celebrated the tenth anniversary of Minnesota’s first national team title. The Gophers return to action on Sunday at Iowa State.

No. 5 Minnesota vs. Indiana
Friday, January 14, 2011
Minneapolis, Minn.

Minnesota 25 Indiana 14
125: No. 5 Zach Sanders (MINN) tech. Justin Brooks (IU) 22-7
133: David Thorn (MINN) SV. Matt Ortega (IU) 7-5
141: No. 2 Mike Thorn (MINN) fall Mitchell Richey (IU ) 3:49
149: Kurt Kinser (IU) dec. Danny Zilverberg (MINN) 5-0
157: No. 6 Paul Young (IU) maj. Joe Grygelko(MINN) 14-6
165: No. 7 Cody Yohn (MINN) dec. Ryan LeBlanc (IU) 2-0
174: No. 8 Scott Glasser (MINN) maj. Nick Avery (IU) 11-3
184: No. 9 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) maj. Eric Cameron (IU)10-1
197: Matt Powless (IU) maj. Joe Nord (MINN) 13-3
285: No. 19 Ricky Alcala (IU) SV No. 9 Tony Nelson (MINN) 3-1

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?