Minnesota State 34 University of Mary 0

Mavericks Blank Mary in NSIC Opener

Minnesota State Earns Second Shutout Win of the Season

Mankato, Minn. – The Minnesota State Mavericks opened Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference duals on Friday night as they defeated the University of Mary Marauders 34-0. The victory marks the second time this season the Mavericks have shutout an opponent as they also downed Waldorf, 49-0, to start the season.

Senior Andy Forstner, the number one ranked wrestler at 125-lbs, improved his record to 13-9 on the year as he defeated Matt Garcia by a 5-3 decision. The remaining two Mavericks who are ranked in their respective weight classes also came out victorious as senior Ben Becker, ranked seventh in the 174-lb weight class, won an 8-3 decision over Kurt Wiedrich, while junior Aaron Norgren, ranked third in the 184-lb class, won a 6-3 decision against Mary’s sixth-ranked Brady Anderson.

While the Mavericks showed their dominance throughout the night earning riding points in six of the nine matches, the most exciting match of the night belonged to freshman Paul Norgren and Tanner Beaman. Both wrestlers held strong as they didn’t allow a single point through the first three periods forcing the match into overtime. The longest match of the night would take three overtimes to determine a winner but it was Norgren who was able to earn the sudden victory with a two-point takedown.

Freshman Skyler Moore would set the tone early for the Mavericks as he earned a 16-2 win by major decision over Ryan Swelland in the 133-lb weight class. While leading 12-2 in the third period, Moore would earn a three-point near-fall and an additional riding time point before time expired ensuring him his seventh win of the year.

The Mavericks (5-2, 1-0 NSIC) look to carry over their momentum to tomorrow night as they are set to host Northern State University in the team’s second NSIC dual of the season. Action is scheduled to start in Bresnan Arena at 7:00 pm Saturday night.

Minnesota State 34, University of Mary 0
125: #1 Andy Fostner (MSU) dec Matt Garcia (Mary) 5-3
133: Skyler Moore (MSU) MD Ryan Selland (Mary) 16-2
141: Paul Norgren (MSU) dec Tanner Beaman (Mary) 2-0
149: Jesse Westphal (MSU) dec Landon Della Silva (Mary) 5-3
157: Tel Todd (MSU) wins by forfeit
165: Brendan Eichmann (MSU) dec Taylor Nagel (Mary) 6-4
174: #7 Ben Becker (MSU) dec Kurt Wiedrich (Mary) 8-3
184: #3 Aaron Norgren (MSU) dec #6 Brady Anderson (Mary) 6-3
197: Pat Mahan (MSU) dec Kriss McCleary (Mary) 8-1
Hwt: Nate Haynes (MSU) dec Austin Woo (Mary) 2-1

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?