Auggies win title at UWEC Invite


EAU CLAIRE, Wis. — Claiming four individual champions, the Augsburg College wrestling team won the championship at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Invitational on Saturday at the McPhee Physical Education Center.

Augsburg 149-pounder Tony Valek (JR, Belle Plaine, Minn./Scott West), 157-pounder Orlando Ponce (JR, Hialeah, Fla./Hialeah-Miami Lakes HS), 197-pounder Jared Massey (SR, Circle Pines, Minn./Centennial HS) and heavyweight Chad Johnson (FY, Ferryville, Wis./De Soto HS) claimed individual titles, with eight other Auggies claiming top-four finishes. The Auggies are ranked No. 3 in the latest National Wrestling Coaches Association Division III national poll.

Valek, ranked No. 5 nationally at 149, collected three first-period pins and two major decisions, including a 9-0 win in the championship match, to earn the title, improving to 30-4 on the season. Ponce, ranked No. 4 nationally at 157, scored two pins and two major decisions among his five wins, improving to 26-5 on the year.

Massey, ranked No. 2 at 197, improved to 12-1 with four victories, including two first-period pins and a major decision, to win his weight class. Johnson also had two first-period pins, including a 27-second match-ender, to improve to 23-8 on the season at heavyweight.

Three Auggies earned runner-up honors — Boyd Suparat (SO, North Branch, Minn.) at 125, Will Keeter (FY, Twin Falls, Idaho) at 141 andBrandon Bahr (JR, Bemidji, Minn.) at 165.

Nick Creamier (JR, Coon Rapids, Minn.) and Niko Bogojevic (FY, Superior, Wis.) shared third-place honors at heavyweight, while Justin Bowland (FY, Foley, Minn.) took third at 165. Mike Orange (SO, Southfield, Mich.) placed fourth at 141, and Brad Baus (JR, Mukwonago, Wis.) placed fourth at 184.

Augsburg closes the regular season with a dual meet at No. 18-ranked Wisconsin-Stevens Point on Friday (2/18) at 7 p.m.

Team Results: 1. Augsburg 138; 2. Wisconsin-Parkside 100.5; 3. St. John’s 79; 4. Wisconsin-Stevens Point 59.5; 5. Wisconsin-Whitewater 45.5; 6. Wartburg (Iowa) 44.5; 7. Wisconsin-Oshkosh 34; 8. Jamestown (N.D.) 33; 9t. Wisconsin-La Crosse 29.5; 9t. Wabash (Ind.) 29.5; 11. Wisconsin-Eau Claire 20; 12. Luther (Iowa) 14; 13. Minnesota-Duluth (Club) 3; 14. Winona State (Club) 2.5.

Augsburg Individual Results:
125 — Josh Roberts 1-1; Ky Olsen 1-2.
133 — Boyd Suparat 3-1, 2nd place; Cody Madsen 3-2; Nathan Lexvold 1-2; Alex Johnson 0-2.
141 — Will Keeter 3-1, 2nd place; Mike Orange 3-2, 4th place; Ryan Cook 0-2.
149 — Tony Valek 5-0, champion.
157 — Orlando Ponce 5-0, champion; Jon Priess 3-2; Tommy Teigen 2-2; Zach Enrico 0-2.
165 — Brandon Bahr 3-1, 2nd place; Justin Bowland 4-1, 3rd place; Tony Castro 1-2.
184 — Brad Baus 3-2, 4th place; Jackson Mboma 1-2.
197 — Jared Massey 4-0, champion.
HWT — Chad Johnson 4-0, champion; Nick Creamier 4-1, co-third place; Niko Bogojevic 3-1, co-third place.