St. Cloud State 25 MSU-Mankato 9

No. 3 Huskies Roll Over No. 8 Mavericks

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – No. 3 St. Cloud State won seven of 10 matches in a 25-9 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference win over Minnesota State University, Mankato Thursday night in Halenbeck Hall.

#2 St. Cloud State vs. #10 Minnesota State-Mankato match video –

The Huskies celebrated senior night by ending the regular season with a 19-2 overall record, while finishing 6-1 in the conference. MSU drops to 9-5 overall and 5-2 in the NSIC with the loss.

Senior’s Westy Hanson (Crookston), Chad Kubasch (New Germany), Erik Rogness (Buffalo), Gabe Suarez (Las Vegas, Nev.) and John Sundgren (Blaine) were all honored Thursday night.

No. 8 ranked Suarez won his 141-pound match 5-4 and No. 2 Sundgren won his 157-pound match 7-1 in their final matches at Halenbeck Hall.

The Mavericks earned a close 5-4 win in the 125-pound match, before the Huskies recorded victory in the next six matches to take a commanding 19-3 lead into the final three matches.

Junior and No. 2 ranked Tad Merritt (Canby) posted the only major decision of the day with a 15-4 win in the 165-pound match. Merritt is now an impressive 30-3 on the season.

Minnesota State then recorded their second and third one-point victories of the evening with a 2-1 and 3-2 win in the 185 and 197-pound matches to bring the score to 19-9 heading into the heavyweight match.

The final match of the evening did not take long as the No. 1 ranked heavyweight in the country Jake Kahnke (Shakopee) needed just 1:57 to pin his appoint and put an exclamation point on the match.

The Huskies will now have a short break in action before competing in the NCAA Central Regional Championships on Sunday, Feb. 27 in Sioux Falls, S.D.

The championship kicks off at noon in Elmen Center on the Augustana College campus.

February 17, 2011 at St. Cloud, MN

St. Cloud State 25 MSU-Mankato 9
125: Andy Forstner (MSU) DEC Dylan Wright (SCS) 5-4
133: Eric  Ellington (SCS) DEC Paul Norgren (MSU) 3-2
141: Gabriel Suarez (SCS) DEC Robby Fisher (MSU) 5-4
149: Jacob D. Horn (SCS) DEC Jesse Westphal (MSU) 6-0
157: John Sundgren (SCS) DEC Tel Todd (MSU) 7-1
165: Tad Merritt (SCS) MD Brendan Eichmann (MSU) 15-4
174: Shamus O’Grady (SCS) DEC Ben Becker (MSU) 6-2
184: Aaron Norgren (MSU) DEC Michael Berg (SCS) 2-1
197: Pat Mahan (MSU) DEC Lucas Munkelwitz (SCS) 3-2
285: Jake  Kahnke (SCS) FALL Nathan Haynes (MSU) 1:57

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?