John Sundgren Nominated for Division II Award

The 2010-11 NCAA Division II Wrestler of the Year winner will be announced live Saturday morning on Takedown Wrestling.  St. Cloud State’s John Sundgren is one of the four regional winners up for consideration with this important award.

The announcement will be made at 10:40 a.m. (Central time) with Takedown Wrestling host Scott Casber on and I Heart Radio on smart phones.

Four regional winners are up for the Division II Wrestler of the Year award — Zack McKendree of Gannon, Mario Morgan of Nebraska-Omaha, John Sundgren of St. Cloud State and Donovan McMahill of Western State.

Sundgren won the NCAA Division II championship at 157-pounds in 2011.  This marked the first time since 1995 that a SCSU wrestler has won a NCAA individual title, and his first place finish helped the Huskies earn a 2nd place team finish at the NCAA.  Sundgren is a resident of Blaine and a graduate of Blaine H.S.

The award is sponsored by the NCAA Division II Wrestling Coaches’ Association and voted on by eight regional representatives from around the country.

Nebraska-Kearney heavyweight Tervel Dlagnev took the inaugural award in 2008, with Nebraska-Omaha 157-pounder Todd Meneely winning in 2009 and Pittsburgh-Johnstown 133-pounder Shane Valko last year.