SDSU’s Flynn earns all-conference honors

OREM, Utah – Nick Flynn was named to the All-Western Wrestling Conference Third Team for the 2010-11 season after his performance at the 2011 NCAA West Regional March 6 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Junior Flynn makes his first appearance on the all-conference list with a third-place finish at the West Regional. After losing by decision in the first round, the Lansing, Kan., native received a bye and a win by forfeit to advance to the third-place match. He defeated Northern Colorado’s Tanner Weiks by a 5-4 decision to earn third place in the conference. He fell to Northern Iowa’s no. two seed David Bonin, ranked no. 19 by Intermat, by an 11-4 decision in the true second-place match to eliminate his claim at one of the two 157-pound automatic bids to the NCAA Championships. Flynn finished his junior season with an 11-17 overall record, including 3-7 in the WWC.

Individuals earned spots on the respective all-conference teams with their finish at the West Regional.

As a team, the Jackrabbits finished the regional in seventh place after compiling a 1-13-1 season record. Each WWC school had at least one individual on the all-conference squads.

The WWC, consisting of Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, SDSU, Utah Valley and Wyoming, received 15 automatic bids and two at-large bids to the NCAA Championships March 17 in Philadelphia.

125 – Michael Martinez (Wyoming), Jr., Pagosa Springs, Colo. (Pagosa Springs HS)**
133 – Flint Ray (UVU), Sr., Roy, Utah (Roy HS)*
141 – Cole VonOhlen (AFA), So., Jackson, Minn. (Jackson County Central HS)*
149 – Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming), Sr., Butte, Mont. (Butte HS)**
157 – Vince Salminen (NDSU), Sr., Billings, Mont. (Skyview HS)*
165 – Shane Onufer (Wyoming), Jr., Auburn, Wash. (Auburn HS)**
174 – Patrick Martinez (Wyoming), RFr., Hemet, Calif. (Temecula Valley HS)
184 – Ryan Loder (UNI), RFr., Granite Bay, Calif. (Granite Bay HS)
197 – LJ Helbig (Wyoming), So., Mason, Mich. (Mason HS)*
285 – Christian Brantley (UNI), Jr., Homewood, Ill. (Mount Carmel HS)**

125 – Caleb Flores (UNI), Sr., Rosemead, Calif. (Northview HS)*
133 – Casey Cruz (UNC), Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Wasson HS)
141 – Justin Morrill (UVU), Sr., Logan, Utah (Mountain Crest HS)*
149 – Brett Robbins (UNI), Sr., Bloomington, Ill. (Bloomington HS)
157 – David Bonin (UNI), So., Broussard, La. (Comeaux HS)*
165 – Steven Monk (NDSU), RFr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)
174 – Joseph Stafford (AFA), Sr., Loomis, Calif. (Del Oro HS)
184 – Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming), Jr., Meeker, Colo. (Meeker HS)**
197 – Andy O’Loughlin (UNI), Sr., Independence, Iowa (Independence HS)**
285 – Matthew McLaughlin (Wyoming), Murphysboro, Ill. (Murphysboro HS)

125 – Benjamin Kjar (UVU), Sr., Centerville, Utah (Viewmont HS)*
133 – Derek Gillespie (AFA), Sr., Chesapeake, Va. (Great Bridge HS)*
141 – Joey Lazor (UNI), So., McDonough, Ga. (Union Grove HS)
149 – Justin Gaethje (UNC), Sr., Safford, Ariz. (Safford HS)*
157 – Nick Flynn (SDSU), Jr., Lansing, Kan., (Lansing HS)
165 – Clayton Gable (AFA), So., Dallastown, Pa. (Dallastown Area HS)
174 – Brad Darrington (UVU), Jr., Shelley, Idaho (Shelley HS)*
184 – Kenny Moenkedick (NDSU), Sr., Perham, Minn. (Perham HS)
197 – Neil Delaney (AFA), Sr., Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS)
285 – Jared Erickson (AFA), So., Newton, Utah (Sky View HS)

* denotes two-time honoree
** denotes three-time honoree
*** denotes four-time honoree

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?