Three Bison Named All-Western Wrestling Conference

OREM, Utah – Three members of the North Dakota State wrestling team earned All-Western Wrestling Conference honors as announced by the league office.  SeniorVince Salminen was a first team selection, while redshirt freshman Steven Monk was named to the second team and senior Kenny Moenkedick was selected to the third team.

Athletes earned spots on the respective teams with their finish at the 2011 NCAA West Regional on March 6.

Salminen was a first team honoree for the second time as he claimed his second consecutive regional title at 157 pounds.  The Billings, Mont. native has an overall record of 37-5 going into the NCAA Championships.  He has also recorded 11 pins.  Salminen will take on 11th-seeded Walter Peppelman of Harvard in the opening round of the NCAA Championships.

Monk earns his first All-WWC honor with his second team selection.  Monk finished second at the NCAA West Regional after defeating Air Force’s Clayton Gable in a true second place bout.  The Wausau, Wis. native finished the season with an overall record of 22-9 and 11 pins.

Moenkedick picks up third team honors after his career-best third place finish at the West Regional.  He finished his senior season with a career-high 28 wins for an overall mark of 28-12.  In the third place match, Moenkedick pinned Casen Eldredge of Utah Valley.  Moenkedick then lost a 13-4 major decision to No. 5 Joe LeBlanc of Wyoming in the true second place bout.

Team-wise, Wyoming led the way with five first-team honorees. Northern Iowa was next with two spots on the first team, while Air Force, North Dakota State and Utah Valley held down one spot apiece. In all, the Cowboys and Panthers led the way with seven all-conference honorees. The Falcons had six wrestlers earn all-league honors and the Wolverines saw four of their grapplers earn all-conference honors. Each WWC school had at least one individual on the all-conference squads.


125 – Michael Martinez (Wyoming), Jr., Pagosa Springs, Colo. (Pagosa Springs HS)**

133 – Flint Ray (UVU), Sr., Roy, Utah (Roy HS)*

141 – Cole VonOhlen (AFA), So., Jackson, Minn. (Jackson County Central HS)*

149 – Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming), Sr., Butte, Mont. (Butte HS)**

157 – Vince Salminen (NDSU), Sr., Billings, Mont. (Skyview HS)*

165 – Shane Onufer (Wyoming), Jr., Auburn, Wash. (Auburn HS)**

174 – Patrick Martinez (Wyoming), RFr., Hemet, Calif. (Temecula Valley HS)

184 – Ryan Loder (UNI), RFr., Granite Bay, Calif. (Granite Bay HS)

197 – LJ Helbig (Wyoming), So., Mason, Mich. (Mason HS)*

285 – Christian Brantley (UNI), Jr., Homewood, Ill. (Mount Carmel HS)**


125 – Caleb Flores (UNI), Sr., Rosemead, Calif. (Northview HS)*

133 – Casey Cruz (UNC), Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Wasson HS)

141 – Justin Morrill (UVU), Sr., Logan, Utah (Mountain Crest HS)*

149 – Brett Robbins (UNI), Sr., Bloomington, Ill. (Bloomington HS)

157 – David Bonin (UNI), So., Broussard, La. (Comeaux HS)*

165 – Steven Monk (NDSU), RFr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)

174 – Joseph Stafford (AFA), Sr., Loomis, Calif. (Del Oro HS)

184 – Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming), Jr., Meeker, Colo. (Meeker HS)**

197 – Andy O’Loughlin (UNI), Sr., Independence, Iowa (Independence HS)**

285 – Matthew McLaughlin (Wyoming), Murphysboro, Ill. (Murphysboro HS)


125 – Benjamin Kjar (UVU), Sr., Centerville, Utah (Viewmont HS)*

133 – Derek Gillespie (AFA), Sr., Chesapeake, Va. (Great Bridge HS)*

141 – Joey Lazor (UNI), So., McDonough, Ga. (Union Grove HS)

149 – Justin Gaethje (UNC), Sr., Safford, Ariz. (Safford HS)*

157 – Nick Flynn (SDSU), Jr., Lansing, Kan., (Lansing HS)

165 – Clayton Gable (AFA), So., Dallastown, Pa. (Dallastown Area HS)

174 – Brad Darrington (UVU), Jr., Shelley, Idaho (Shelley HS)*

184 – Kenny Moenkedick (NDSU), Sr., Perham, Minn. (Perham HS)

197 – Neil Delaney (AFA), Sr., Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS)

285 – Jared Erickson (AFA), So., Newton, Utah (Sky View HS)

* denotes two-time honoree
** denotes three-time honoree
*** denotes four-time honoree

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?