Batsukh Named National Wrestler of the Year

COLLEGEVILLE, Minn. – Saint John’s University senior wrestler Minga Batsukh (Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia/St. Benedict’s Prep, N.J.) was named the 2011 National Wrestler of the Year on Monday, April 18. Release

Batsukh finished his collegiate career as a three-time NCAA Division III champion, winning the 141-pound title in 2009 and 2010, followed by the 149-pound title this year.  He became the first three-time national champion in school history, regardless of sport, and was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler. Batsukh compiled an 88-19 career record, which included a 28-12 record as a freshman and a 60-7 mark his final three seasons. This year, Batsukh moved up a weight class from 141 to 149 and compiled a 27-1 record. His only loss was a 7-5 overtime decision to Blaine Woszczak of Ithaca (N.Y.), which he avenged in the national semifinals.

At the North Country Open, Batsukh amassed 50 takedowns in five matches to win his weight class with four technical falls and a major decision. He collected a school-record 17 takedowns in his 35-19 opening-round win, breaking the old record of 15. Eighteen of Batsukh’s 27 wins were bonus-point victories (major decision, technical fall or fall).

Batsukh helped lead the Johnnies to a sixth-place finish out of 60 teams and was one of five All-Americans for Saint John’s. Junior Dustin Baxter (Fairbanks, Alaska/West Valley) finished the season 26-8 and finished third at 184 pounds. Senior Matt Baarson (Brooklyn Park, Minn./Champlin Park) claimed fourth at 165 to end the season with a 28-5 record and 99-27 for his career. Junior Chad Henle (Spicer, Minn./New London-Spicer) took seventh at 133 pounds and wrapped up the season with a 26-10 record, while fellow junior Matt Pfarr (Le Sueur, Minn./Le Sueur-Henderson) finished his season 29-9 with a seventh-place finish at 174.

Senior Chris Sandy (Spirit Lakes, Iowa) received the NCAA’s Elite 88 Award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 88 championships.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?