Another Great Year for the Cobber Team Camp

Matt and Clay Nagel finished up the 7th annual Cobber Team Wrestling Camp. For the 4th year in a row the Cobber’s produced over 300 plus campers. The camp started last week Sunday and wrapped up with awards and Championship matches on Thursday morning.

A few highlights from the camp were the six outstanding clinicians in Phil Moenkedick, Cole Konrad, Zach Sanders, Mike Thorn, Sonny Yohn and Brandon Eggum.

Some of the other highlights at this year’s camp were the Ironman competitionTeam Dual Championships and everyone’s favorite, the Dodge Ball Tournament.

This year’s camp had over twenty-six teams participate, coming from all over Minnesota and North Dakota.

2011 Cobber Team Camp

The Ironman competition consisted of six daily events (Push-ups, Sit-ups, Burpee’s, Pull-ups, 12 Minute Run and Shuttle Run). Each camper scored points in these events throughout camp.

The top six individual event winners are as follows:

  • Adam Jackson (Rosemount) with 150 Push-ups
  • Danny Gove (Hastings) with 423 Sit-ups
  • Danny Gove (Hastings) with 43 Pull-ups
  • Tyler Hegma (Royalton) with 43 Shuttle-run lines
  • Danny Gove (Hastings) with 414 Burpee’s

Six-way tie for the 12-minute run with 19-200m laps: Alexander Eastman (St. Francis), Kwame Owusu (Rosemount), Cody Gagner (RLCC), Quinten Desrosier (Fertile), Bruce Lemon(Frazee), and Myrel Schermerhorn (Frazee)

The top five total point winners were as follows

  • 1st with 1,661 points from Hasting Danny Gove
  • 2nd with 1,431 from Rosemount Adam Jackson
  • 3rd with 1,353 from Hastings Dan Marquette
  • 4th with 1,318 from Frazee Bruce Lemon
  • 5th with 1,296 from OTC Zach Matthys

The top five overall Team Ironman winners are as follows

  • 1st place with a team total of 11,588 Rosemount
  • 2nd place with a team total of 10,546 Minneota
  • 3rd place with a team total of 10,206 Hastings
  • 4th place with a team total of 9,387 Royalton
  • 5th place with a team total of 9,217 New London-Spicer

Hastings knocked off defending champs New London-Spicer in the best of three games to take home the Dodge Ball Title!

Minneota defended their title in the Team Dual portion of the camp by knocking off New London-Spicer in the finals, Rosemount took 3rd and Staples came in 4th.

Oustanding Wrestler went to a Minneota Wrestler for the second year in a row – Adam Josephson.

Out of the 320 wrestlers that participated in camp, forty-four campers were recipients of the Ironman Award for tallying 1050 points or more. The list is as follows: Dan Marquette Hastings 1353, Jake Anderson Hastings 1,058, Danny Gove Hastings 1,661, Andy Rachuy Hastings 1,198, Jake Spitzak 1,088, Sam Kuss Rocori 991, Adam Kunz Rocori 1,150, Sonny Komaniecki Dover-Eyota 1,085, Ryan Hamernik DGF 1,062, Mitch Lange Royalton 1,268, Brady Moulzolf Royalton 1,104, Derek Sonenstahl Pine River 1,052, Nathaniel AdkinsPine River 1,052, Landyn VanOverbeke Minneota 1,110, Alex Engler Minneota 1,091, Andrew Swedzinski Minneota 1,269, Alex Lessman Minneota 1,169, Adam Josephson Minneota 990, Josh VanOverbeke Minneota 965, Zach Matthys OTC 1,296, Bruce Lemon Frazee 1,318, Myrel Schermerhorn Frazee 1,250, Brett Gildersleeve Frazee 1,030, Chase AustvoldNew London-Spicer 1,093, Treyton Austvold New London-Spicer 1,077, Ben Henle New London-Spicer 1,073, Alexander Eastman St. Francis 1,134, Ty Haverland Perham 1,065,Shane Undem Valley City 1,121, Sean Murphy Red River 1,104, Miles Scholl West Fargo 1,051, Kwame Owusu Rosemount 1,089, Adam Jackson Rosemount 1,431, Grant JacksonRosemount 1,247, Sam Meoller Rosemount 1,091, Mitch Boatman Rosemount 1,053, Ben Sandoz Rosemount 1,233, Steven Levine Rosemount 1,181, Dan Rosa Rosemount 1,194, Leaf Palmer Centennial 1,054, Wes Hendrickson Centennial 1,093, Tom Handley Centennial 1,050, Mike Matheson Centennial 1,056, and Tim VanGundy Centennial 1,060.

Coach Clay Nagel stated, “this was one of the best camps we have ever had! We had outstanding numbers, excellent technicians, great staff and some hard-fought competition from all the participating teams and individuals.”

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?