Minnesota teams, individuals, and publications receive national recognition

Several Minnesota high school teams, individuals, and publications were honored in the May 30th issue of Wrestling USA Magazine.

Wrestling USA Magazine’s 2011 Awards – Minnesota Honorees

State Tournament Programs
1st: Minnesota

High School Publications Annuals – Large and Small Format
1st: Eastview High School
4th Owatonna High School
5th: Austin High School

1st: Owatonna High School “Owatonna Wrestling Newsletter”

2nd: Owatonna High School “The Last Round Up”
7th: Austin High School “Shake and Bake”

State Person-of-the-Year Awards
Minnesota: Jayson Ness, Bloomington, MN

2011 Wrestling USA Scholastic All-American Teams

Dream Team
152: Destin McCauley (Apple Valley)
Hwt: Donny Longendyke (White Bear Lake)

Academic Team
112: Jordan Kingsley (Apple Valley)

130: Hayden Zillmer (Crosby-Ironton)
135: Matt Kelliher (Apple Valley)
135: Bronson Steuber (Jackson County Central)

All-American Honorable Mention
119: Mike Fuenffinger (Hibbing)
130: Matt Nelson (Big Lake)
140: Clint Poster (Pierz)
145: Shawn Hatlestad (New London-Spicer)
152: Tyler Mergen (Monticello)
171: Sebastian Gardner (Monticello)
171: Jake Waste (Apple Valley)
189: Kody Sorenson (Frazee)

~Spencer Yohe, Wrestling USA Magazine Minnesota State Editor

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?