Anoka High School will induct its first Hall of Fame class tonight

Anoka High School has established a Hall of Fame and will induct the first class at 6 p.m. tonight at the school auditorium, 3939 7th Av. N., Anoka. A reception will follow. Both are free and open to the public.

In addition, the class will be honored during Friday’s Anoka football game against Andover (7 p.m. at Goodrich Field).

Here’s a look at the wrestling members of the inaugural class, based on a school district release.

Dan Chandler, Class of ’70: After wrestling in high school, he was a captain of the University of Minnesota team. He made three U.S. Olympic teams, won two Pan American Games titles, placed in three world championships, and won 12 Greco-Roman national titles. He was head coach of the 2000 U.S. Greco-Roman team at the Olympics in Sydney, Australia.

Dick Mueller, Class of ’51: After winning three state high school wrestling championships, he competed at the University of Minnesota, winning a national title in 1953. After serving in the Army, and wrestling there, he returned to the U and won two more Big Ten titles. Along the way, he was also an alternate for the U.S. Olympic team and a member of the wrestling team for the Pan Am Games.

Brandon Paulson, Class of ’92: He was a three-time state wrestling champion and was named Minnesota Wrestler of the Year as a senior. He was a silver medalist in Greco-Roman wrestling at 114.5 pounds in the 1996 Olympics, and an All-American in 1998 at the University of Minnesota. He was an assistant wrestling coach at Anoka from 2005-08.

Dave Herbold, Class of ’49: He won multiple letters in wrestling, track and football, and captained Anoka’s first state championship wrestling team. After serving in the Navy, where he started wrestling programs at two Naval Air stations, he played football, wrestled and was a discus thrower at the University of Minnesota. After college, he taught math and physics and coached football, wrestling and track for 21 years before moving on to a career as a mechanical engineer.

Members of Anoka High School’s inaugural Hall of Fame class (students, with year of graduation unless otherwise noted): Jim Alley, coach; Steve Alley (1972); John Bauer (1987); Duane Blaska (1959); Billy Bye (1945); Gretchen Carlson (1984); Willis Castle (1944); Dan Chandler (1970); Wayne Dietz (coach); Tod Hartje (1986); Dave Herbold (1949); Jeff Hymanson (1972); Robert W. Johnson (1934); Kristi (Kropp) Wagner (1982); Dick Mueller (1951); Cheryl (Nelson) King (1966); Stan Nelson, coach; Steve Nelson (1969); Charles B. Olson, band director; Brandon Paulson (1992); Tom Pearson, athletic director; Briana Scurry (1990); Bill Wanamaker (1944); Chuck Wennerlund (1957)