SMSU announces 2010-11 athletic awards at 2011 Celebration of Excellence

MARSHALL, Minn. – Southwest Minnesota State student-athletes from the 2010-11 academic year were honored at the SMSU Athletic Department sixth annual Celebration of Excellence program held on Sunday afternoon on the campus of SMSU.

C.D. Johnson and Devin Deidrich

The SMSU volleyball and women’s golf teams, both of which qualified for the NCAA tournament last season, were recognized, as were all-conference, academic all-conference, seniors, team MVPs and Mustang Medalists.

Soccer player Jenna Perske from Sartell, Minn., was named the 2010-11 female scholar-athlete of the year, while men’s basketball player Taylor Huseby from Pelican Rapids, Minn., was named male scholar-athlete of the year.

Wrestler C.D. Johnson from LeRoy, Mich., received 2010-11 male athlete of the year honors, while volleyball player Devin Deidrich from Braham, Minn., was named female athlete of the year for the second straight season.

Johnson finished with 25 victories last winter and qualified for the 2011 NCAA championships at 184 lbs. A two-time NCAA national qualifier, Johnson finished his career with 78 victories, ranking tied for 12th in program history.

Deidrich was named the NSIC player of the year in 2010 and was named first-team All-America. She led SMSU with 503 kills and 104 total blocks.

Former SMSU football player Paul Muecke served as this year’s keynote speaker.

Aaron Ziemer, sports director at Marshall Radio, served as master of ceremonies.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?