Johnnie Wrestling Provides Strong Showing in Opener

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – Saint John’s placed 10 wrestlers in the top six of their respective weight classes at the Wisconsin-Stevens Point Open on Saturday, Nov. 5, in Stevens Point, Wis.

None of the Johnnies’ three nationally-ranked wrestlers competed in the season-opening tournament.

Junior Nick Schuler (Roseville, Minn./Totino-Grace) won the 165-pound bracket with a perfect 5-0 record. He defeated the Pointers’ Jordan Schulte, ranked fourth nationally, 7-4 in the semifinal before pinning Ben Cox of Wisconsin in the championship bout. Fellow junior Chris Stevermer (Savage, Minn./Prior Lake) claimed fifth at 165.

Junior Mitch Hagen (Sunburg, Minn./Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg) and freshman Josh Willaert (Le Sueur, Minn./Le Sueur-Henderson) posted matching 3-1 records at 184, though Willaert claimed second and Hagen finished third. Hagen lost to Wisconsin-Oshkosh’s Sam Engelland, the seventh-ranked wrestler at 184 in the country, 3-1 in the semifinal. Willaert fell to Engelland via pin in 3:57.

Sophomore Alex Peck (Edina, Minn./Benilde-St. Margaret’s) claimed fourth at 141 and freshman Evan Guffey (Wyandotte, Mich./Roosevelt) finished fifth at 133.

Junior Cody Socher (Delano, Minn.) fought back to finish fourth at heavyweight after losing a tough 4-2 match in overtime to start the season. He posted back-to-back pins to start wrestlebacks, followed by a 5-3 win and a forfeit, before falling to Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Anthony Edgren 4-3 in the third-place bout.

The Johnnies placed three in the top six at 149. Freshman Jamie Brazil (Crystal, Minn./Robbinsdale Cooper) made quite a first impression in his collegiate debut with a second-place finish. Sophomore Joe Hessing (Loretto, Minn./Delano) followed close behind in third and sophomore Ryan Arne (Orono, Minn.) took fifth.

The Johnnies return to action in two weeks at the annual Augsburg Open on Saturday, Nov. 19. The tournament is scheduled for 9 a.m. at Si Melby Hall in Minneapolis.

2011_Stevens_Point_Open_Brackets (Pdf)

Matt Hickerson: 2-2
Brian Waldron: 0-2

Evan Guffey: 4-2

Aaron Padrnos: 2-2
Scott Padrnos: 0-2
Alex Peck: 5-2

Ryan Arne: 2-2
Ochirbat Bayanjargal: 0-2
Jamie Brazil: 3-1
Joe Hessing: 6-1
Jesse Rodgers: 0-2
Jay Woiwor: 0-2

Devin Nanik: 1-2
Luke Newgaard: 0-2

Matt Rodgers: 1-2
Brandon Seppelt: 1-2
Nick Schuler: 5-0
Chris Stevermer: 5-2

Aaron Brasket: 2-2
David Rademacher: 1-2
Luke Ramos: 0-2
Sam Wiese: 0-2

Mitch Hagen: 3-1
Tyler Walsh: 0-2
Josh Willaert: 3-1

Riad Abu-Smail: 0-2
Dino Saracco: 0-2
Cody Socher: 4-2