Minnesota 23, Penn State 14

No. 3/4 Minnesota Upsets No. 2 Penn State 23-14
Sonny Yohn and Kevin Steinhaus pick up huge wins to help the Gophers get the win

The No. 3/4 Golden Gopher Wrestling team pulled off the upset this afternoon over No. 2 Penn State University, 23-14. Penn State came into the dual as the defending Big Ten and NCAA Champions. Minnesota took seven of the 10 matches, with Sonny Yohn’s match at 197 lbs., being the deciding factor, as he defeated the Nitany Lions Morgan McIntosh by a thrilling 4-3 decision, to give the Gophers a 20-14 lead heading into the final match.

Yohn, who was down 0-1 after the second, started down to begin the final period and quickly got the escape point to make it 1-1. Both grapplers then went down to the wire in the closing minute. McIntosh scored a takedown with 20 seconds left to go, to take the 3-1 lead, but Yohn quickly got the escape and scored a takedown to take a 4-3 lead in the final seconds, to ice the dual for the Gophers .

Tony Nelson stepped into the circle needing to just stay alive and not fall to a pin to give Minnesota the win. Nelson and Penn State’s Cameron Wade went scoreless through the first period, before Nelson started on bottom in the second and scored the escape point. Nelson would then record a takedown to make it 4-0 and close it out winning 5-0, to give the Gophers the 23-14 team victory.

“This was great for the guys today,” Head Coach J Robinson said. “The guys wrestled with great intensity, focus and dominance today. Overall it was our attitude that carried us today and that is what will carry us throughout the season.”

Other Gopher wins came from senior Zach Sanders (125), David Thorn (133), Nick Dardanes (141), Jake Dietchler (157) and Kevin Steinhaus (184).

Sanders started off the morning pretty similar to his match on Friday night. He had control of Penn State’s Nico Megaludis for all seven minutes and pulled through with the 6-2 victory. Sanders now has 108 career wins for the Gophers.
Following Sanders performance, Minnesota picked up two wins by major decisions. Thorn, who was trying to follow up from his performance on Friday night (fall: 2:25) took down Derek Reber , by score of 14-5. Nick Dardanes got back on the winning side of things today and picked up the19-6 major over Sam Sherlock.

Dardanes’s victory gave Minnesota the 11-0 lead and gave the Gophers a total of 10 takedowns oppose to Penn State’s zero.

Deitchler picked up the win in a close 9-4 decision over Dylan Alton. Both wrestlers traded shots durning the first period and most the action took place in the second. Alton started underneath to start the second and got away at 20 seconds into the period. They both battled back for a bit before Deitchler got in on a single leg for the takedown, to make it 3-3 after the second. Deitchler would score a couple more takedowns in the third and with the riding time pulled out the win.

Steinhaus’s upset over No. 1 Quentin Wright was the highlight that gave the spark the Gophers needed. This match was quiet for the first period, as no points were scored until Wright started on bottom to open the second and quickly scored the escape. Steinhaus responded right back with a take down to take the 2-1 lead and would control the remainder of the match with a pair of takedowns and riding time, to pick up the 6-1 win.

“That match was a huge match for us,” Assistant Head Coach Brandon Eggum said in regards to Steinhaus’s upset. “As a group we regrouped pretty well after Friday’s loss. We told the guys that today was a new day and that we can learn from our mistakes.”

Minnesota will now return home for their first home dual competition of the season, next Sunday Nov. 17, when they host North Dakota State University at 2 p.m. at the Sports Pavilion.

NOTE: With today’s win Head Coach J Robinson now has 375 wins as the Gophers commander. His overall record is 375-127-4.

November 20, 2011 at State College, PA

Minnesota 23, Penn State 14
125 Zach Sanders won by decision over Nicholas Megaludis 6-2
133 David Thorn won by major decision over Derek Reber 14-5
141 Nick Dardanes won by major decision over Samuel Sherlock 19-6
149 Frank Molinaro won by decision over Dylan Ness 16-10
157 Jake Deitchler won by decision over Dylan Alton 9-4
165 David Taylor won by tech fall over Cody Yohn 4:29 16-1
174 Edward Ruth won by pin over Alec Ortiz 2:28
184 Kevin Steinhaus won by decision over Quentin Wright 6-1
197 Sonny Yohn won by decision over Morgan McIntosh 4-3
285 Tony Nelson won by decision over Cameron Wade 5-0

Watch more video of Penn State vs Minnesota on flowrestling.org

Watch more video of Penn State vs Minnesota on flowrestling.org

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?