South Dakota State at Campbell Triangular

The South Dakota State wrestling team split its duals at the Campbell Triangular on Friday…

The Jacks beat Davidson 35-12 before falling to host school Campbell 23-15.

In the first dual, SDSU got off to a great start, as Aaron Pickrel earned a major decision over his opponent at 125 pounds.

The Jacks continued to build a lead after provided Davidson with an open at 133, scoring a pin from Dustin Walraven at 141, a major decision from Cody Pack at 149 and a technical fall from Nick Flynn at 157.

SDSU led 19-6 at that point.

The Jacks took three of the remaining five matches, with a pin by Joe Rasmussen at 174, a major decision from Nick Mart at 197 and forfeit for Joe Skow at 285.

Those three matches sealed the first win of the season for the Jacks.

In the nightcap, the host school Campbell and SDSU went back and forth in scoring, but Campbell came out on top.

The Jacks won four of the first five matches by decision, as Pickrel, Walraven, Pack and Flynn all earned their second victories of the day.

Campbell bounced back, however, with one fall, two major decisions and one decision in the final five matches.

Tony Lisek earned the only decision in the final five matches at 184, but it was not enough, as Campbell came from behind in the final two matches to win 23-15.

“It was great to see our wrestlers compete with aggression and execute the technique we have been stressing,” head coach Jason Liles said. “Our team leaders Pickrel, Walraven and Flynn excelled and newcomer Pack displayed dominance in winning both individual matches.”

Next up for the Jacks is a trip to Cedar Falls, Iowa, for the UNI Open on Saturday, Dec. 3. The open is set to begin at 9 a.m.

Complete results from tonight’s duals can be found below.

November 18, 2011

South Dakota State 35, Davidson 12
125 – Aaron Pickrel major dec. Matt Zarth (D), 10-1
133 – Anthony Elisa (D) wins by forfeit
141 – Dustin Walraven fall Ben Hartshorn (D), 2:51
149 – Cody Pack major dec. Kevin Birmingham (D), 20-7
157 – Nick Flynn tech fall CT Talevi (D), 4:56
165 – Tyler Mullen (D) dec. Troy Morisette, 8-2
174 – Joe Rasmussen fall Ian Solcz (D), 4:33
184 – Scott Patrick (D) dec. Tony Lisek, 14-13
197 – Nick Mart major dec. Ed Isola, 17-4
285 – Joe Skow wins by forfeit

Campbell 23, South Dakota State 15
125 – Aaron Pickrel dec. Josh Fisher (CU), 7-3
133 – Tanner Bidelspach (CU) wins by forfeit
141 – Dustin Walraven dec. Joe Rizzolino (CU), 6-1
149 – Cody Pack dec. Mark Hartenstine (CU), 5-2
157 – Nick Flynn dec. Ryan Krecker (CU), 8-2
165 – Nick Rex (CU) major dec. Troy Morisette, 17-3
174 – James Cook (CU) major dec. Joe Rasmussen, 10-2
184 – Tony Lisek dec. TeShaun Johnson (CU), 4-1
197 – John Weakley (CU) fall Nick Mart, 2:55
285 – Joe Nolan (CU) dec. Joe Skow, 6-1

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?