2012 NWHOF Minnesota Chapter honorees announced

The Minnesota Chapter of The National Wrestling Hall of Fame will honor seven individuals at its 10th Anniversary Banquet at The Austin Holiday Inn Conference Center on May 5th, 2012. Social Hour is 4-5:00 pm, Dinner and Program is 5-6.30 pm, and inductions from 6.30-8.00 pm.

The Class of 2012 includes Outstanding American Reid Lamphere, former U of M All-American, who westled for Hall of Fame Coach Darrell Sohn. Lamphere has been the head sports chaplin for Athletes in Action (AIA), International in 118 different countries through the World. He has directed or coached at a number of International, Olympic, and World Events for AIA.

Torrey Westrom from Elbow Lake, is serving his eighth term in the State House as a Representative. He is the only blind person ever elected to the Minnesota State Legislature. Torrey turned to wrestling after losing his eyesight as a freshmen in high school. Torry will receive The State Courage Award.

Lifetime Servie Honorees include the late C. Dean Fox, who coached over forty years at Pelican Rapids; Gregg Greeno, long-time highly successful coach at St.-Michael-Albertville; Al Holmes, long-time collegiate coach at Moorhead State, MN, Mayville, ND, and Brainered Community College. Al also coached at Frazee and Fergus Falls High Schools.

Lifetime Servie Honorees also include Mike McArthur of Osseo, who had a storied career at the University of Minnesota and coaching for twenty-nine years with Athletes in Action and a number of big-time colleges and USA Wrestling in Colorado Springs, CO; and Harry Schlieff, long-time successful Head Coach and Athletic Director at Mounds View High School.

More information will be be released in early March. Ticket information is available from Chapter President Spencer Yohe 320-766-1934, syohe@acegroup.cc, or http://mn-nwhof.ticketleap.com.

Past Minnesota Chapter of The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Inductees

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?