Minnesota 24, Central Michigan 9

No. 3 Gophers Demolish No. 19 Central Michigan 24-9

The No. 3 Minnesota wrestling team continued its hot streak against No. 19 Central Michigan tonight, after defeating the Chippewas 24-9. With the win, the Gophers extend their all-time win streak against the Chippewas to 12-0. Minnesota started the evening out strong winning the first six matches.

The night started out at 125 lbs. and Zach Sanders would come out strong in the opening match and only need two full periods, as he defeated Joe Roth by a 24-9 technical fall. It was Sanders third win of the season by a count of a technical fall.

Next up for Minnesota was David Thorn, who pulled out the win over the Chippeawas Christian Cullinan by a 5-4 decision. Nick Dardanes would follow Thorn and won an 8-5 decision over Scott Mattingly.

Dylan Ness took the mat next for the Gophers, who came into the third match of the night up 11-0. Ness would have total control of CMU’s Joey Kielbasa and picked up his fifth win of the season with a 8-1 decision.

Alec Ortiz would come into the Gopher lineup at 157 lbs., and picked up a huge 5-2 dec. The sophomore from Grand Ronde, Ore., would put Minnesota on top 17-0, heading into intermission.

The Chippewas would break into the Gophers six match win streak and pick up back-to-back wins at 174 lbs. and 184 lbs. In the 184 lbs. match between No. 5 Kevin Steinhaus and No. 9 Ben Bennett, both wrestlers went down to the wire with Bennett picking up the 2-1 decision, after picking up the extra point from riding time.

Sonny Yohn would pick up the Gophers final points on the evening after winning by a 21-7 major decision over Chad Friend.

Minnesota will next travel to face rival Oklahoma State on Sunday. The Cowboys are ranked No. 2 in the nation. Minnesota has lost to Oklahoma State the last two times they have faced. Action is set to get underway in Stillwater at 1 p.m.

December 2, 2011 at Mount Pleasant, MI

Minnesota 24, Central Michigan 9
125: No. 2 Zach Sanders won by tech fall over No. 19 Joe Roth; 5:00 24-9; MINN: 5 CMU: 0
133: No. 6 David Thorn won by dec. over Christian Cullinan; 5-4; MINN: 8 CMU: 0
141: No. 13 Nick Dardanes won by dec. over Scott Mattingly; 8-5; MINN: 11 CMU: 0
149: No. 13 Dylan Ness won by dec. over Joey Kielbasa; 8-1; MINN: 14 CMU: 0
157: Alec Ortiz won by dec. over Jared Porter; 5-2; MINN: 17 CMU: 0
165: No. 8 Cody Yohn won by dec. over Mike Ottinger; 2-1 -MINN: 20 CMU: 0
174: Anthony Bill won by dec. over Steven Avalos: 10-4; MINN: 20 CMU: 3
184: No.9 Ben Bennett won by dec. over No. 5 Kevin Steinhaus; 2-1; MINN: 20 CMU: 6
197: No. 3 Sonny Yohn won by major dec. over Chad Friend; 21-7; MINN: 24 CMU: 6
HWT: No. 9 Peter Sturgeon won by dec. over No. 2 Tony Nelson; 6-4; MINN:24 CMU: 9