Minnesota State’s Quinn and Demo Top Finishers at Jim Fox Open

Dubuque, Iowa – Minnesota State Freshman Cody Quinn and Sophomore David Demo both won their respective weight classes at the 2011 Jim Fox Spartan Open hosted by the University of Dubuque. In all, nine Mavericks earned top-five finishes.

After receiving a first round bye, Quinn defeated Elliott Wirkler (UNI) via a tech fall with a score of 18-3. Quinn went on to defeat Taylor Berger (UNI) in a 10-3 decision and Nic Finkenbinder (Harper College) in a 4-2 decision in the 165-lb championship match.

Demo used three major decision victories and one by decision en route to a 4-0 day and a championship in the 125-lb class. Demo defeated Edel Vaca (Unattached) 11-1, Zach Humel (Harper College) 7-0, Chris Paulus (Upper Iowa) 14-4, and Mitch Funk (Upper Iowa) 10-0 in the championship match.

Junior Robby Fisher went 4-1 on the day to capture second-place in the 141-lb weight class. Fisher advanced via falls in his first two matches. Fisher defeated Yuko Sorci (Dubuque) at 4:19 and Vince Gottardo (Harper College) at 2:38. Fisher won his next two matches in decisions as he defeated Eric Powell (Dubuque) 9-6 and Siven Furseth (Dubuque) 12-8 before losing to Adam Perrin (UNI) 5-3 in the championship match.

After receiving a first round bye, senior Tel Todd defeated Shane Havenstrite (Upper Iowa) and Travis Arreguin (Dubuque) both by falls before falling to Jarrett Jensen (UNI) in a 5-0 decision. Going 2-1 on the day was good for second-place in the 157-lb weight class.

Junior Alex Folk received a bye in the first round before defeated Chuka Willis (Hannibal LaGrange) and Mike Murphy (Minnesota State), both by falls. Folk was defeated by Joe Kubica (Dubuque) 10-5 in the championship match.

Sophomore Brendan Eichmann earned a third-place finish in the 175-lb weight class after going 3-1, while receiving two byes. After receiving an opening round bye, Eichmann was defeated by Cody Caldwell (UNI) in a 14-5 major decision. Eichmann went on to defeat Rich Tado (Harper College) 17-1 in a tech fall, Cody Schurman (UNI) 14-5 in a major decision, and Austin Gelbach (UNI) 5-0 in the third-place match.

Sophomore heavyweight Nate Haynes was defeated by Cody Krumweide (UNI) 2-1 in the first round. After a second round bye, Haynes won four matches in a row en route to a third-place finish in the 285-lb weight class.

Also finishing in the top-five was Mike Murphy 149-lb and Mike Knutson 184-lb.

Minnesota State will next be in competition on January 7-8 at the NWCA Duals in Springfield, Ill.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?