Air Force 37, South Dakota State 6

Air Force Rolls to 37-6 Victory Over South Dakota State

BROOKINGS, S.D. – Winning seven of nine contested bouts, the Air Force wrestling team earned a 37-6 conference dual victory over South Dakota State on Sunday afternoon. With the win, the Falcons improve to 7-4 overall and 2-2 in Western Wrestling Conference action, while the Jackrabbits fall to 3-4 overall and 0-2 in the WWC.

South Dakota State earned the early advantage in the dual, winning the 165-pound match in a narrow 6-4 victory. However, the Falcons got on the scoreboard and took the lead as junior Clayton Gable (Dallastown, Pa.) registered a 16-1 technical fall at 174 pounds.

Air Force went on to win the next three bouts, getting a 9-4 decision from Greg Isley (So., Toledo, Ohio) at 184 pounds, a 13-0 major decision from Josh Mohr (Jr., Pewaukee, Wis.) at 197 pounds and a close 3-2 decision from Jared Erickson (Jr., Newton, Utah) in the heavyweight bout.

The Jacks picked up their second victory of the day at 125 pounds, earning a close 4-2 victory, but the Falcons swept the remaining weight classes. Freshman Dylan Hyder (Yelm, Wash.) and Carter McElhany (Colorado Springs, Colo.) scored back-to-back falls at 133 and 141 pounds, respectively, while third-ranked Cole VonOhlen (Jr., Jackson, Minn.) added six more team points with a forfeit victory at 149 pounds. Sophomore Josh Kreimier closed out the afternoon for the Falcons with a 12-4 major decision at 157 pounds, giving the Air Force the 37-6 victory.

The Falcons are back in action on Thursday, Feb. 2, when they host Wyoming in their final home dual of the season.

Air Force 37, South Dakota State 6
165 – Dillon Reid (SDSU) dec. Colby Kluesner, 6-4
174 – Clayton Gable (AF) tech fall Joe Rasmussen, 16-1 (6:24)
184 – Greg Isley (AF) dec. Tony Lisek, 9-4
197 – Josh Mohr (AF) maj. dec. Nick Mart, 13-0
Hwt – Jared Erickson (AF) dec. Joe Skow, 3-2
125 – Aaron Pickrel (SDSU) dec. Greg Rinker, 4-2
133 – Dylan Hyder (AF) fall Nick Chavez, 2:55
141 – Carter McElhany (AF) fall Tyler Johnson, 4:06
149 – Cole VonOhlen (AF) win by forfeit
157 – Josh Kreimier (AF) maj. dec. Nick Flynn, 12-4

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?