Augustana 29 MSU-Moorhead 10

No. 5 Augustana victorious in NSIC finale

MOORHEAD, Minn. – No. 5 Augustana wrapped up its Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference season with a 29-10 victory over MSU Moorhead Wednesday evening.

Augustana finishes the regular season at 13-3 (5-2 NSIC). MSU Moorhead falls to 2-9 (0-6 NSIC).

The Dragons quickly jumped out to a 7-0 lead over their nationally ranked opponent. MSUM’s Gerad Fugleberg beat Taylor Harris 8-0 for a major decision at 285 pounds, and Corey Ulmer topped Cody Lensing 5-1 at 125 pounds.

Jason Jeremiason answered on behalf of the Vikings by pinning Graelin Garlington in 1 minute, 21 seconds at 133 pounds.

Chism Fink’s 12-4 win by major decision over MSUM’s Connor MacGregor at 141 pounds gave the Vikings their first lead of the night at 10-7.

Nate Herda, 149 pounds, stretched the Vikings’ advantage to 13-7 by defeating Tyler Steinwand 5-2.

At 157 pounds, MSUM managed its final victory of the night as Jacob Bennett handed Parker Swanson a 7-6 loss.

Matt Morris added another pin for Augustana, needing just 1:31 to take care of Derek Lee at 165 pounds.

Carl Serck (174), Jayd Docken (184) and Sean Derry (197) closed the dual with Viking wins. Serck got his victory by major decision.

The 2011-12 dual season marked the third-straight winning campaign for Jason Reitmeier’s Vikings. It was also the third-consecutive season with at least 11 wins.

Augustana will host an open tournament Sunday beginning at 9 a.m. Postseason competition starts on Feb. 26 at the Super Region Three Championship in St. Cloud, Minn.

The Dragons look to finish the 2011-12 season on a high note as the seniors and the 2006 National Champion in the 165-pound class, Nate Baker, will be honored during Friday’s dual against Southwest Minnesota State. The John Sterner Endowment Dual will take place in Alex Nemzek Fieldhouse with matches beginning at 7 p.m.

Augustana 29 MSU-Moorhead 10
285 Gerad Fugleberg, MSM, maj. dec. Taylor Harris, AUSD, 8-0
125 Corey Ulmer, MSM, dec. Cody Lensing, AUSD, 5-1
133 Jason Jeremiason, AUSD, pinned Graelin Garlington, MSM, 1:21
141 Chism Fink, AUSD, maj. dec. Connor MacGregor, MSM, 12-4
149 Nate Herda, AUSD, dec. Tyler Steinwand, MSM, 5-2
157 Jacob Bennett, MSM, dec. Parker Swanson, AUSD, 7-6
165 Matt Morris, AUSD, pinned Derek Lee, MSM, 1:31
174 Carl Serck, AUSD, maj. dec. Trent Sovde, MSM, 14-5
184 Jayd Docken, AUSD, dec. Kody Kalkbrenner, MSM, 9-3
197 Sean Derry, AUSD, dec. Eric Lehmann, MSM, 9-4

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?