Five Johnnies Reach Finals at North Country

COLLEGEVILLE, Minn. – A mix of veterans and youth led the eighth-ranked Saint John’s wrestling team at the annual North Country Open on Saturday, Feb. 4, in Collegeville.

North Country Open Brackets/Results on TrackWrestling

Senior Matt Pfarr (Le Sueur, Minn./Le Sueur-Henderson) bumped up a weight class and shared the championship title with junior Mitch Hagen (Sunburg, Minn./Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg) at 184 pounds. Pfarr tallied a pair of pins and a decision in the semifinals, while Hagen recorded a fall and decision before receiving a forfeit from sophomore Brock Friesen (Oak Park, Ill./Oak Park and River Forest) in the semis.

Senior Dustin Baxter (Fairbanks, Alaska/West Valley) lost his first match of the season and finished second at 197 pounds. He earned a pin and decision before falling 6-5 to Minnesota’s Scott Schiller in the championship bout. Baxter is now 22-1 on the season.

Sophomore Ryan Arne (Orono, Minn.) claimed second at 157 pounds with a 4-1 record. He started the tournament with three straight pins, followed by a 7-3 win over sophomore Brandon Seppelt (Foley, Minn.) in the semifinals before suffering a 9-4 loss in the championship bout.

Freshman Matt Rogers (Dillingham, Alaska/Mt. Edgecumbe) finished second at 165 pounds, thanks to a forfeit from junior Nick Schuler (Roseville, Minn./Totino-Grace) in the semifinals. Rogers earned two decisions before falling to Augsburg’s Tom Teigen, 4-2 in the title match. Schuler won his first match with a 15-0 technical fall before sitting out the rest of the tournament.

Sophomore John Scepaniak (Avon, Minn./Holdingford) took third at heavyweight with a 4-1 record on the day. He won his first match by fall before losing a 9-8 decision to the eventual champ, Shaun Little of St. Cloud State. Scepaniak won a pair of consolation matches before taking third with a 5-3 win over Southwest State’s Casey Johnson, the bracket’s top seed.

The Johnnies return to the mat in two weeks at the Augustana (S.D.) Invitational on Sunday, Feb. 19. The meet is scheduled for 9 a.m. in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Matt Hickerson (0-2)

Evan Guffey, Sixth (1-1)
Scott Padrnos (0-2)

Ochirbat Bayanjargal (0-1)
Cody Goldschmidt, Fifth (2-2)
Joe Hessing (1-1)
Jesse Rogers (2-2)
Jay Woiwor (0-2)

Ryan Arne, Second (4-1)
Jamie Brazil (1-2)
Brandon Seppelt, Sixth (2-1)
Chris Stevermer, Fourth (3-2)

Devin Nanik (2-1)
Luke Newgaard (0-2)
Matt Rogers, Second (2-1)
Nick Schuler (1-0)
Sam Wiese (0-2)

Aaron Brasket (0-2)
David Rademacher (0-2)

Brock Friesen, Fifth (2-1)
Mitch Hagen, T-First (2-0)
Matt Pfarr, T-First (3-0)
Luke Ramos (0-2)

Dustin Baxter, Second (2-1)
Ryan Michaelis (1-2)

Riad Abu-Smail (1-1)
Teddy Kline (1-2)
Dino Saracco (0-2)
John Scepaniak, Third (4-1)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?