Minnesota State’s Demo and Quinn Advance to the NCAA Championships

St. Cloud, Minn. — David Demo and Cody Quinn have advanced and will respresent Minnesota State at the NCAA National Division II Championships. Demo wrestled back and won the true fourth-place match at 125-lb while Quinn won fourth-place outright in the 165-lb weight class.

After receiving an opening round bye, Demo lost to Eric Forde of St. Cloud State 4-2. The sophomore went on to defeat Hunter Menedez (U-Mary) in a 16-2 major decision and Anthony Bruno (Northern State) 7-3. After falling to Cody Lensing (Augustana) 7-3, Demo rebounded and defeated Forde 7-2. In a true fourth-place match with a trip to nationals on the line, Demo defeated Chris Paulus (Upper Iowa) 4-3.

Quinn, a freshman, also received an opening round bye before defeating Montrail Johnson (UW-Parkside) 9-3. After falling to Tad Merritt (St. Cloud State) at 3:47, Quinn bounced back by recording back-to-back wins to capture fourth-place. Quinn pinned Jeff Weiss (Indianapolis) at 6:59 and defeated Taylor nagel (U-Mary) 9-5 en route to punching his ticket to nationals.

Sophomore Brendan Eichmann made a push for a national championship bid but fell short and captured fifth-place in the 174-lb weight class. Eichmann opened up with a major decision win over Donnie Bowden (Northern State) 9-1 and pinned Trent Molacek (Southwest Minnesota State) at 4:00 before falling to Wade Gobin (Upper Iowa) 3-2 in overtime. Eichmann closed out the day with a 4-2 decision win over Trent Sovde (MSU-Moordhead).

Other notable performers were freshman Drew Lexvold, who finished in sixth-place in the 141-lb weight class and senior Tel Todd. After starting out with back-to-back decision wins, Todd fell to Dillon Bera (UW-Parkside) 7-0 and was defeated by Jacob Bennett by a 5-1 injury default before recording a medical forfeit to Collin Engelhardt (U-Mary).

NCAA Division II Super Region 3 Tournament Results

David Demo 125-lb
Eric Forde (St. Cloud State) over Demo 4-2 decision
Demo over Hunter Menedez (U-Mary) 16-2 major decision
Demo over Anthony Bruno (Northern State) 3-2 decision
Cody Lensing over Demo 7-3 decision
Demo over Eric Forde (St. Cloud State) 7-2 decision
Demo over Chris Paulus (Upper Iowa) 4-3

Brian Reisenauer 133-lb
Trevor Franklin (Upper Iowa) over Reisenauer 10-2 major decision
Colin Crume (UW-Parkside) over Reisenauer 11-7 decision

Drew Lexvold 141-lb
Tyrell Galloway (Maryville) over Lexvold 4-1 decision
Lexvold over Justin Kieffer (Indianapolis) 9-7 decision
Lexvold over Duane Richardson (Upper Iowa) 7-4 decision
Tyrell Galloway (Maryville) over Lexvold 11-3 major decision
Jay Hildreth (St. Cloud State) over Lexvold 10-7 decision

Jesse Westphal 149-lb
Westphal over Codie Lane (Southwest Minnesota State) 6-2 decision
Steven Sandefer (Indianapolis) over Westphal 8-2 decision
Westphal over Tyler Steinwand (MSU-Moorhead) fall 3:50
Mike Migawa (UW-Parkside) over Westphal 7-3 decision

Tel Todd 157-lb
Todd over Jacob Bennett (MSU-Moorhead) 9-2 decision
Todd over Joseph Moorhouse (Maryville) 4-2 decision
Dillon Bera (UW-Parkside) over Todd 7-0
Jacob Bennett over Todd 5-1 injury default
Collin Engelhardt (U-Mary) over Todd medical forfeit

Cody Quinn 165-lb
Quinn over Montrail Johnson (UW-Parkside) 9-3 decision
Tad Merritt (St. Cloud State) over Quinn fall 3:47
Quinn over Jeff Weiss (Indianapolis) fall 6:59
Taylor Nagel (U-Mary) over Quinn 9-5 decision

Brendan Eichmann 174-lb
Eichmann over Donnie Bowden (Northern State 9-1 major decision
Eichmann over Trent Molacek (Southwest Minnesota State) fall 4:00
Wade Gobin (Upper Iowa) over Eichmann 3-2 OT decision
Eichmann over Trent Sovde (MSU-Moorhead) 4-2 decision

Brandon Pederson 184-lb
Derek Skala (St. Cloud State) over Pederson 6-2 decision
Pederson over Kody Kelbrenner (MSU-Moorhead) 9-1 major decision
Tyler Hasenbank (Newman) over Pederson fall 0:19

Derek Hahn 197-lb
Matthew Baker (Maryville) over Hahn 10-2 major decision
Steven Cooksley (Newman) over Hahn fall 4:59

Nate Haynes HWT
Jacob Cole (Newman) over Haynes OT decision 4-3
Haynes over Gerad Fugleberg (MSU-Moorhead) 16-0 tech fall
Brian Rodas (Southwest Minnesota State) over Haynes 10-4 decision

Demo and Quinn will travel to Pueblo, Colo. on March 9-10 to compete in the NCAA Championships.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?