MSU-Mankato 31 MSU-Moorhead 6

Mavericks Breakthrough with First Conference Win

Mankato, Minn. — Back-to-back major decision wins for Minnesota State at 133-lb by Brian Reisenauer and 141-lb by Robby Fisher set the tone for Minnesota State en route to seven consecutive wins and a 31-6 win over MSU-Moorhead.

After a loss at 125-lb, Reisenauer defeated Graelin Garlington 18-5 to record the major decision win. Fisher backed up the major win by recording one of his own, defeating Connor MacGregor 13-4. Senior 149-lb Jesse Westphal continued the momentum for MSU by defeating Tyler Steinwand in a 10-6 decision.

Senior 157-lb Tel Todd made quick work of Derek Lee defeating him in a tech fall 17-2 in the second period. Freshman 165-lb Cody Quinn recorded two takedowns and a three point near fall before pinning Jacob Bennet at 1:33.

174-lb Branden Eichmann and 184-lb Brandon Pederson each recorded their 15th win of the season via decision wins, defeating Trent Svode and Kody Kalkbrenner respectively.

After losing a decision at 197-lb, heavyweight Nate Haynes rounded out the dual by defeating Gerad Fugleberg in a 7-1 decision.

Minnesota State, now 3-7 overall and 1-2 in NSIC action will return to the mat on February 9-10 as they travel to Northern State and U-Mary.

MSU-Mankato 31 MSU-Moorhead 6
125 Corey Ulmer, MSM, dec. David Demo, MSM, 7-1
133 Brian Reisenauer, MSM, maj. dec. Graelin Garlington, MSM, 18-5
141 Robby Fisher, MSM, maj. dec. Connor MacGregor, MSM, 13-4
149 Jesse Westphal, MSM, dec. Tyler Steinwand, MSM, 10-6
157 Tel Todd, MSM, tech. fall Derek Lee, MSM, 3:00 17-2
165 Cody Quinn, MSM, pinned Jacob Bennett, MSM, 0:00
174 Brendan Eichmann, MSM, dec. Trent Sovde, MSM, 4-2
184 Brandon Pederson, MSM, dec. Kody Kalkbrenner, MSM, 11-5
197 Eric Lehmann, MSM, dec. Derek Hahn, MSM, 2-0
285 Nathan Haynes, MSM, dec. Gerad Fugleberg, MSM, 7-1

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?