North Dakota State 24, Utah Valley 18

OREM, Utah – The North Dakota State wrestling team improved to 3-1 in the Western Wrestling Conference with a 24-18 win over Utah Valley Friday, Feb. 10.

No. 14 Josh Wilson of Utah Valley gave the home side an early lead with a first period pin of Mark Erickson at 149 pounds. The lead was quickly erased as No. 13 Steven Monk responded with a pin of his own at 157 pounds. Monk downed Napoleon Aniciete in 3 minutes 51 seconds.

The Bison then won the next three in a row to take a commanding 17-6 lead. Tyler Johnson used a five-takedown performance to claim a 12-3 major decision win over Ethan Smith at 165 pounds.

At 174 pounds, Joe Garner tallied two third period takedowns to put Monte Shmaulhaus away, 8-4. Mac Stoll continued the Bison run at 184 pounds, shutting out David Prieto, 11-0. Stoll scored three takedowns and a three-point near fall in the win.

Utah Valley got back in the win column at 197 pounds as Bryan Chamberlain won an 8-6 decision over John Gusewelle.

Heavyweight Evan Knutson put the Bison up 20-9 with the team’s second shutout of the night, defeating Dustin Dennison 4-0. After two scoreless periods, Knutson scored an early escape in the third and put the match away with a takedown with 33 seconds remaining. He also earned a point for riding time.

At 125 pounds, Trent Sprenkle dominated Colby Christensen, 13-2. Christensen scored an early takedown, but Sprenkle shut him down the rest of the way, scoring 11 points in the first two periods and punctuating the win with a takedown with two seconds to go in the third period.

At 133 pounds, Blake Mangum defeated Justin Solberg, 8-5. Mangum jumped out to a 5-1 lead after two periods and Solberg battled back with two third period takedowns, but was unable to close the gap. Utah Valley’s Avery Garner won the 141 pound bout by forfeit to give the match the final 24-18 score.

The Bison will take on Northern Colorado at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 12 in the final road dual of the season.

North Dakota State 24, Utah Valley 18
149 – No. 14 Josh Wilson (UVU) fall Mark Erickson (NDSU), 1:59
157 – No. 13 Steven Monk (NDSU) fall Napoleon Aniciete (UVU), 3:51
165 – Tyler Johnson (NDSU) maj. dec. Ethan Smith (UVU), 13-3
174 – Joe Garner (NDSU) dec. Monte Shmaulhaus (UVU), 9-4
184 – Mac Stoll (NDSU) maj. dec. David Prieto (UVU), 11-0
197 – Bryan Chamberlain (UVU) dec. John Gusewelle (NDSU), 8-6
Hwt – Evan Knutson (NDSU) dec. Dustin Dennison (UVU), 4-0
125 – Trent Sprenkle (NDSU) maj. dec. Colby Christensen (UVU), 14-2
133 – Blake Mangum (UVU) dec. Justin Solberg (NDSU), 8-5
141 – Avery Garner (UVU) win by forfeit

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?