Vikings have three All-Americans, tie for 10th at NCAA Championships

PUEBLO, Colo. – Three from Augustana earned All-America honors and the Vikings tied for 10th at the NCAA Championships Saturday.

The Vikings, who entered nationals ranked sixth in the country, accumulated 41.5 team points.

Nebraska-Kearney won the team title with 107 points.

Cody Lensing (125), Chism Fink (141) and Jason Jeremiason (133) each secured All-America status by placing second, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Lensing fell to Grand Canyon’s Kyle Mccrite 9-3 in the championship. He beat Joshua Kieffer of Indianapolis 8-3 Saturday morning to secure his spot in the championshp contest.

Fink finished fourth at 141 pounds. The senior opened the day by falling to Nebraska-Kearney’s Dalton Jensen. He followed by topping Casy Rowell of Central Oklahoma 5-3, but Danile Ownbey of North Carolina-Pembroke posted a 3-2 win in the third-place match.

Jeremiason claimed fifth-place honors at 133 pounds after going 1-2 on Saturday. He was pinned in his opening-two matches but topped Limeston’s Michael Magaha 4-1 in the fifth-place contest.

Augustana’s four other wrestlers–Nate Herda (149), Carl Serck (174), Jayd Docken (184) and Sean Derry (197)–were all eliminated Friday.

The Vikings logged their third-straight top-10 national finish and 18th in program history. The three All-America citations brings Augustana wrestling’s total to 109.

Division II Brackets/Results on

Augustana match-by-match

Cody Lensing (125)
defeated Garrett Evans (Ouachita Baptist) by decision, 9-2
defeated Kenny Trumbetta (Seton Hill) by fall, 4:07
defeated Joshua Kieffer (Indianapolis) by decision, 8-3
lost to Kyle Mccrite (Grand Canyon) by decision, 9-3

Jason Jeremiason (133)
defeated Julian Perez (San Francisco State) by major decision, 12-4
defeated Dustin Reed (Central Oklahoma) by decision, 10-4
lost to Andrew Pokorny (St. Cloud State) by fall, 4:22
lost to Evan Yenolevich (Kutztown) by fall, 2:37
defeated Michael Magaha (Limestone) by decision, 4-1

Chism Fink (141)
defeated Aaron Smith (American International) by decision, 2-0
defeated Tywan Claxton (King) by decision, 4-1
lost to Dalton Jensen (Nebraska-Kearney) by decision, 7-4
defeated Casy Rowell (Central Oklahoma) by decision, 5-3
lost to Daniel Ownbey (North Carolina-Pembroke) by decision, 3-2

Nate Herda (149)
defeated Jeremy Espinoza (Findlay) by major decision, 13-0
lost to Raufeon Stots (Nebraska-Kearney) by decision, 8-5
lost to Eathan Swope (Gannon) by fall, 8:30

Carl Serck (174)
defeated Kelly Henderson (Central Oklahoma) by decision, 5-1
lost to Travis Sheehy (Newberry) by decision, 6-4
lost to Travis McKillop (Pittsburgh-Johnstown) by decision, 5-3

Jayd Docken (184)
defeated Nick Peterson (Central Missouri) by decision, 6-4 (OT)
lost to Tanner Keck (Central Oklahoma) by decision, 7-6
lost to Mitch Schultz (Upper Iowa) by decision, 9-3

Sean Derry (197)
lost to Shane Nolan (North Carolina-Pembroke) by decision, 8-6
lost to Celic Bell (Grand Canyon) by major decision, 15-3

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?