Augustana’s Lensing, Edgington awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships

INDIANAPOLIS – Augustana wrestlers Cody Lensing and Marcus Edgington have been awarded prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships.

The one-time grants of $7,500 are awarded for fall, winter and spring sports. Each season there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women–regardless of division. The scholarships are awarded to student athletes who excel academically and who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletic competition.

Both Lensing and Edgington will continue their studies at the University of Minnesota–Lensing in medicinal chemistry and Edgington in engineering.

Lensing, a native of Moundsview, Minn., capped his senior season in 2011-12 with an 18-6 record and a runner-up finish in the 125-pound division at the NCAA Championships. He achieved a 3.96 grade point average with majors in biochemistry and philosophy, graduating with summa cum laude distinction.

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference honored Lensing with the 2012 Dr. William Britton Scholar-Athlete Award for Academic Excellence, recognizing the league’s top male student-athlete. He was named a 2012 NCAA Elite 89 winner at the NCAA Division II tournament, an award presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 89 championships.

Edgington majored in engineering and physics, earning a grade point average of 3.83. The Sioux City, Iowa, native graduated magna cum laude. He is a two-time All-American, finishing fourth at 157 pounds as a sophomore and seventh as a junior. His senior season was cut short by injury.

For 2011-12, the two Viking standouts were named Capital One Academic All-District 7, Division II All-Academic and Academic All-NSIC.

In the last two years, five Augustana student-athletes have been awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships, bringing the College’s overall total to 30. Wrestling leads the way with nine.

Complete list of Augustana recipients