DIII Committee names regional sites

New format has six sites with 180 qualifiers moving to nationals

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division III Wrestling Committee announced today the selection of six sites to host the 2013 Division III Wrestling Regional Championships.

The selected sites and host schools are:

March 2CentralDubuque, IowaFive Flags CenterLoras
March 2EastEwing, N.J.Student Recreation CenterTCNJ
March 2MideastAda, OhioONU Sports CenterOhio Northern
March 2MidwestElmhurst, Ill.R.A. Faganel HallElmhurst
March 2-3NortheastWorchester, Mass.Sports and Recreation CenterWPI
March 3WestMinneapolisSi Melby HallAugsburg

The six-site regional format is part of a new qualification process for the Division III Wrestling Championships, approved by the Division III Championships Committee in April. The format says that the top-three wrestlers from each weight class will advance to the championships from each of the six regional sites, allowing for a total of 180 qualifiers.

The previous Division III wrestling qualification system consisted of seven automatic-qualifying conferences and two NCAA sponsored regionals that moved 170 student-athletes onto the championships through automatic bids and at-large selections.

Student-athletes advancing out of the 2013 regional championships will compete at the Division III Wrestling Championships scheduled for March 15-16 at the Cedar Rapids Ice Arena in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?