Matt Ghaffari, Dennis Koslowski to enter Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions

The Short family from Minnesota will receive the Family Legacy Award

By Kyle Klingman NWHOF Dan Gable Museum

WATERLOO, Iowa–The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum will induct Matt Ghaffari and Dennis Koslowski into the Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions. An induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, October 20, 2012, at the Kennedy Center on the campus of Augsburg College in Minneapolis, Minn.

Alan and Gloria Rice, namesakes of the hall of champions, have been instrumental to the success of Greco-Roman wrestling in the United States. Alan Rice was a Big Ten champion and an All-American for the University of Minnesota. In 1956 he won double national titles in Greco-Roman and freestyle. He also placed fifth at the 1956 Olympics and was coach of the 1972 Greco-Roman Olympic team.

He and his wife, Gloria, founded the Minnesota Wrestling Club. The club enjoys the unique distinction of placing a wrestler on every World and Olympic team since 1964, a record unequaled in American wrestling history. The Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions is located inside the Dan Gable Museum in Waterloo.

“I’m glad to have another opportunity to recognize the great champions of Greco-Roman wrestling,” said Rice. “I am looking forward to continued success at the World Championships and the Olympic Games.”

Ghaffari is one of the most accomplished Greco-Roman wrestlers in U.S. history. He won four medals at the World Championships and the Olympic Games in the super heavyweight division. At the World Championships Ghaffari placed second in 1991, third in 1995, and second in 1998. He also won a silver medal at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta.

Hall of Fame inductee Dennis Koslowski
Dennis Koslowski

Koslowski won three medals of his own: two at the Olympics and one at the World championships. He placed second at the 1987 World Championships, third at the 1988 Olympics and second at the 1992 Olympics.

Ghaffari and Koslowski join Rulon Gardner, Steve Fraser, Jeff Blatnick, Mike Houck, Dennis Hall and Joe Warren in this elite Hall.

Wayne Baughman will be given the Alan Rice Leadership Award for his contributions to advancing the sport of wrestling. Baughman won 16 national titles during his career in four different styles of wrestling (collegiate, freestyle, Greco-Roman, and sambo). He was also a member of the 1964, 1968, and 1972 Greco-Roman Olympic teams for the United States. Baughman coached the 1976 freestyle Olympic team to six medals.

The Short family from Minnesota will receive the Family Legacy Award. The award is given to a family that has excelled in wrestling. Jim and Pat Short had four sons—John, Chris, Will, and Wade—who combined for seven individual state championships at Simley High School. All four had wrestling careers at the University of Minnesota, with Chris and Will earning All-American honors.

Jim was the head wrestling coach at Simley from 1970 through 1998 where his team won the Minnesota state wrestling tournament in 1987, 1988, 1989, and 1992. Will took over for his father in 1998 and coached until 2008. Jim coached the team again in 2009 and was co-head coach with Will in 2010 and 2011. Will took over sole coaching duties for the 2012 season. Simley has won the past five Minnesota state wrestling championships.

Jim and Will combined to coach Simley to nine state team titles (five for Jim, two for Will, and two for Jim and Will as co-head coaches). Jim’s wife, Pat, mother to the four champions, is also heavily involved in wrestling. As a volunteer she has worked many major tournaments including the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games as a pairer and director.

Contact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at (319) 233-0745 or to order tickets banquet tickets. You can also order tickets online at

Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions
Saturday, October 20, 2012
Augsburg College – Christensen Center – Minneapolis, MN

  • 6:00 pm Reception
  • 7:00 pm Dinner
  • 8:00 pm Honors Ceremony

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?