2013 NWHOF Minnesota Chapter honorees announced

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame will honor seven individuals at The Minnesota Chapter Banquet in Austin, Minn. on Saturday, April 20th, 2013.

Larry Zilverberg, three-time All-American, three-time Big 10 and Midlands champion, and long-time University of Minnesota coach under the late Wally Johnson, will be the State’s Outstanding American honoree. Larry started and owns North Central Companies. He has had an ouststanding career in the agriculture commodities business.

Lifetime Service Honorees

Ron Ackerman of Fridley has officiated wrestling in Minnesota for the past 44 years and has been the State’s leader in that important postion. Ron has also officiated at The European High School Armed Forces Championships.

Scot Davis has coached for 41 years and is the record-holder of the most all-time career varsity wins in the USA with 984 wins. Scot has two state team titles to his credit at Owatonna and is a long-time promoter of the sport.

Dee Gause of Plymouth, was the first female pairings master licensed by FILA. She excelled in that field at state and wolrd events. Dee has been involved with cultural exchange teams and with the U of M and SCSU wrestling clubs.

Mike Niemczyk, long-time Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton coach, has coached for 42 years. Mike had three of his teams place at the MSHSL State Tournament. He is a member of the MSU-Mankato staff.

Leo Simon, 30 year veteran and long-time Caledonia coach, directed his team to an individual state tournament championship. Two of his teams earned runner-up and consolation championships in the dual meet portion of the torunament He led Caledonia to an 83-match win streak that was a state record that stood for 35 years.

The late Mike Tatone, of the Twin Cities, officiated for 33 years from 1950 to 1983 until a tragic accident claimed his life. Mike also wrestled and coached at the University of Minnesota.

The 2013 Banquet will be held April 20 at the Austin Holiday Inn Conference Center. Social Hour: 4-5 PM. Dinner and Video: 5-6.30 PM. Presentations, Program, and Inductions from 6.30-8.00 PM.

Ticket information is available from Chapter President Spencer Yohe 320-766-1934, syohe@acegroup.cc, or http://mn-nwhof.ticketleap.com.

Past Minnesota Chapter of The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Inductees

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?