Hazewinkel family to receive Legacy Award from Alan & Gloria Rice Greco Hall of Champions, October 20

By Kyle Klingman – National Wrestling Hall of Fame

WATERLOO, Iowa — One of the greatest family legacies in wrestling will be honored by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum. The Hazewinkel family will receive the Legacy Award at the Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions induction ceremony on October 20, 2012, in Minneapolis, Minn.

The Hazewinkel legacy began with Dave and Jim, identical twin brothers from Coon Rapids, Minn. Both were members of the 1968 and 1972 U.S. Greco-Roman Olympic teams and both were on six consecutive World and Olympic teams together (1967 through 1972). Jim was also member of the 1966 World team while Dave was the first American to win two World medals in Greco-Roman wrestling (bronze in 1969 and silver in 1970).

Alan Rice, namesake of the Hall of Champions, served as head wrestling coach for the U.S. Greco-Roman team at the 1972 Munich Olympics. Rice coached the Hazewinkel twins during their final Olympic competition. Dave and Jim currently serve as wrestling coaches at Marion Military Academy in Marion, Ala.

Dave’s son, Sam Hazewinkel, competed on the 2012 Olympic team in freestyle wrestling at 121 pounds. The competition was 40 years after Sam’s father and uncle wrestled at the Olympics. Sam was also a U.S. national champion in Greco-Roman in 2005 and 2007 and he was a four-time All-American at the University of Oklahoma.

“It was a pleasure to coach both Dave and Jim at the 1972 Olympics,” said Alan Rice. “I was proud to see Sam make this year’s Olympic team in freestyle. I am excited that all three will be at this year’s event to accept this prestigious award.”

Chas Betts will also be recognized at the event. Betts currently wrestles for the Minnesota Wrestling Club—the same club that Alan & Gloria Rice founded in 1964. Betts made the 2012 Olympic team in Greco-Roman wrestling at 185 pounds, which keeps the streak alive of at least one wrestler from the Minnesota Wrestling Club making a World or Olympic team.

John Bardis will serve as the Master of Ceromonies at the event. Bardis is the president, chairman, and CEO of MedAssets. He served as team leader for the U.S. Greco-Roman Olympic team in 2008 and was a Junior National champion in Greco-Roman.

This year’s Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions induction class includes Matt Ghaffari and Dennis Koslowski.

Ghaffari is one of the most accomplished Greco-Roman wrestlers in U.S. history. He won four medals at the World Championships and the Olympic Games in the super heavyweight division. At the World Championships Ghaffari placed second in 1991, third in 1995, and second in 1998. He also won a silver medal at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta.

Koslowski won three medals of his own: two at the Olympics and one at the World championships. He placed second at the 1987 World Championships, third at the 1988 Olympics and second at the 1992 Olympics.

Wayne Baughman will be given the Alan Rice Leadership Award for his contributions to advancing the sport of wrestling. Baughman won 16 national titles during his career in four different styles of wrestling (collegiate, freestyle, Greco-Roman, and sambo). He was also a member of the 1964, 1968, and 1972 Greco-Roman Olympic teams for the United States. Baughman coached the 1976 freestyle Olympic team to six medals.

Contact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at (319) 233-0745 or dgmstaff@nwhof.org to order banquet tickets. You can also order banquet tickets online at http://dgm-nwhof.ticketleap.com/grhoc/

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?