Minnesota 32, Hofstra 6

Minnesota Crushes Hofstra, 32-6, to Open Season; Gophers win eight of 10 bouts on the night

The No. 1 Minnesota Wrestling (1-0) defeated the No. 25 Hofstra Pride (0-1) tonight at the Sports Pavilion by a score of 32-6 to open the 2012-13 dual season with style. The Gophers were victorious in eight of the 10 bouts on the evening.

The night opened with the 125 weight class where No. 13 David Thorn kick-started his season with a thrilling upset victory over No. 4-ranked Steve Bonanno. Up 4-1 in the first period, Thorn capitalized on a takedown for the 3:00 pin as the clock ran down. No. 5 Chris Dardanes followed at 133. After two silent periods, Dardanes scored three takedowns and a reversal and added one point for riding time in the third to come out on top, 9-5.

Minnesota GophersHofstra got on board in the 141 bout when No. 10 Luke Vaith outlasted No. 8 Nick Daradanes for a 6-4 decision to earn three points for his team. Matt Spataro earned the second victory in the 149 weight class for the Pride after adding an extra point for 1:26 of riding time to push him past with a 5-4 score.

Seth Lange notched a sudden victory over Tyler Banks, scoring a takedown in the fourth overtime period. His win lifted the energy in the gym and put the Gophers back on track to win out the match. No. 8 Cody Yohn was next on the mat and dominated Nick Terdick. He gathered five near falls in the first two periods on the way to a 15-0 technical fall.

No. 5 Logan Storley, No. 4 Kevin Steinhaus, and No. 10 Scott Schiller each scored major decisions in their respective weight classes. Storley took down Jermaine John, 12-1 at 174. Steinhaus shout-out Taras Luzhnyy, 10-0 at 184 pounds. At 197, Schiller defeated Victor Pozsonyi by a 14-4 major.

No. 1 Tony Nelson capped off the night with a 6-3 decision over Hofstra’s Paul Snyder in the 285 bout. Nelson sandwiched a pair of takedowns around an escape and collected 2:17 of riding time for the victory.

The Gophers are back in action tomorrow when they compete in the 43rd annual Bison Open in Fargo, N.D. Matches begin at 10:00 a.m.

November 9, 2012 at Minneapolis, Minn.

#1 Minnesota 32 #25 Hofstra 6
125: #13 David Thorn, MN fall #4 Steve Bonanno, Hof 2:59
133: #5 Chris Dardanes, MN vs #18 Jamie Franco, Hof 9-5
141: #10 luke Vaith, Hof dec #8 Nick Dardanes, MN 6-4
149: Matt Spataro, Hof dec. Tom Giaimo, MN 5-4
157: Seth Lange, MN dec Tyler Banks, Hof 3-1 SV2
165: #8 Cody Yohn, MN tech fall Nick Terdick, Hof 15-0
174: #5 Logan Storley, MN maj. dec. Jermaine John, Hof 12-1
184: #4 Kevin Steinhaus, MN maj. dec. Taras Luzhnyy, Hof 10-0
197: #10 Scott Schiller, MN maj. dec. Victor Pozsonyi, Hof 14-4
285: #1 Tony Nelson, MN dec Paul Snyder, Hof 6-3