Minnesota 27, Nebraska 7

Gophers notch four major decisions to gain first conference win of season

The Minnesota wrestling team won eight of ten bouts, including four major decision victories, to prevail over Nebraska tonight at the NU Coliseum in Lincoln, Neb. The Gophers grab their first conference win of the season and improve to 2-0, 1-0 B1G. Head coach J Robinson is just three wins away from becoming the program’s all-time winningest coach with an overall record of 390-149-4.

Minnesota GophersThe night started with the heavyweights, where Tony Nelson extended his winning streak to 31 matches by notching an 11-2 major decision over Nebraska started Donny Longendyke. Up 2-0, Nelson tallied three takedowns and an escape in the third period to start the Gophers with a spark.

Minnesota ran with the momentum and won the next three bouts of the evening to give the Gophers a 15-0 cushion. David Thorn defeated Eric Coufal (14-3 maj. dec.), Chris Dardanes scored against Shawn Nagel (12-5 dec.), and Nick Dardanes closed his match with a single-leg takedown of Skylar Galloway (11-2 maj. dec.).

Jake Sueflohn but Nebraska on the board with a 14-5 major decision over Seth Lange in the 149 weight class. James Green added three more points for the Cornhuskers by edging Brad Dolezal at 157 lbs., but the strike stopped there as the Gophers won out the remaining weight classes.

Cody Yohn put the team back on track, defeating Austin Wilson at 165 lbs. Logan Storley followed with a sudden victory over Robert Kokesh to ignite the Gophers’ energy once again. In a rematch of the 2012 Big Ten Championship dual, Kevin Steinhaus matched up against Josh Ihnen and with a last-second takedown, overpowered the rival to a 3-1 victory.

Scott Schiller closed the night with a 3-1 decision over Caleb Kolb. An early takedown gave Schiller the upper-hand, while Kolb was only able to manage one escape.

Minnesota Wrestling will return home Sunday for a home dual against No. 24 Boise State. The afternoon match is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. CT.

Minnesota 27, Nebraska 7
Hwt: #1 Tony Nelson (MINN) by major dec. over Donny Longendyke (NEB), 11-2 (MINN 4, NEB 0)
125: #6 David Thorn (MINN) by major dec. over Eric Coufal (NEB), 14-3 (MINN 8, NEB 0)
133: #6 Chris Dardanes (MINN) by dec. over Shawn Nagel (NEB), 12-5 (MINN 11, NEB 0)
141: #8 Nick Dardanes (MINN) by major dec. over Skylar Galloway (NEB), 11-2 (MINN 15, NEB 0)
149: #13 Jake Sueflohn (NEB) by major dec. over Seth Lange (MINN), 14-5 (MINN 15, NEB 4)
157: #5 James Green (NEB) by dec. over Brad Dolezal (MINN), 14-9 (MINN 15, NEB 7)
165: #9 Cody Yohn (MINN) by dec. over Austin Wilson (NEB), 8-6 (MINN 18, NEB 7)
174: #5 Logan Storley (MINN) by sudden victory over #7 Robert Kokesh (NEB), 3-1 (MINN 21, NEB 7)
184: #4 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) by dec. over #6 Josh Ihnen (NEB), 3-1 (MINN 24, NEB 7)
197: #12 Scott Schiller (MINN) by dec. over Caleb Kolb (NEB), 3-1 (MINN 27, NEB 7)