Augustana captures six titles at MSU-Moorhead Open

MOORHEAD, Minn. – Augustana had 12 wrestlers place at the MSU-Moorhead Open on Saturday, and have six wrestlers earn championship honors in their respective weight classes. There were 18 teams that competed in the MSU Moorhead Open in Moorhead, Minn. on Saturday.

Augustana VikingsTJ North, Nate Herda, Jayd Docken, Morgan Engbrecht, Jacob Anderson and Michael Lowman each won titles on Saturday.

North won the 125-pound class in the red division bracket winning a tie breaker over Anthony Bruno of Northern State in the championship bout. Herda won a 5-3 decision over Thomas Giaimo of the University of Minnesota to win the 149-pound title.

Docken won a 16-3 major decision over Matthew Hechsel of Augsburg College to win the 197-pound weight class. Engbrecht pinned Jamestown’s Joe Murillo in 2:42 to take the 125-pound White Division title.

Anderson won the 149-pound title in the White Division with an 8-2 decision over SMSU’s Beau Buysse while Lowman won the White Division heavyweight bout in a 5-2 decision over Zane Petersen of Ridgewater College.

Jeremiah Peterson finished fourth at 133 pounds, while Shawn Hatlestad finished sixth at 157. Tim Weber brought home fifth-place at 174 pounds and Sean Derry was the runner-up at 184 pounds losing a close 9-8 decision to Brett Pfarr of the University of Minnesota.

Mitch Rechtzigel was pinned in the championship bout at 165 pounds by Kyle Begin of SMSU. Drake Fanslau finished fifth at 174 pounds with a pin of Quinten Strand of Augsburg.

MSU-Moorhead Open results

Augustan will begin the dual portion of its schedule next Friday, Dec. 7 participating in a triangular with Northwestern (Iowa), Dakota Wesleyan and Air Force Academy at Jackson County Central High School in Jackson, Minn.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?