O’Grady Named Oxton Award Winner at Holiday Inn/Husky Open

The #2 St. Cloud State University wrestling team enjoyed another successful day at the 2012 Holiday Inn/Husky Open on Saturday, Dec. 8 in the Halenbeck Hall Fieldhouse. The Huskies crowned two weight division champions at the tournament, including senior Shamus O’Grady who was named the John Oxton Award (MVP) winner and the Jack Gause Award (Most Pins in the least amount of time) winner.

SCSU HuskiesO’Grady brought home the top spot at 184-pounds for the Huskies with a big 8-7 victory over Luke Rynish, an unattached wrestler who recently completed an All-America career at UW-Parkside. On the day, O’Grady pin his first three opponents in the opening bouts at 184 to gain the Gause Award. He ended the tournament with a perfect 4-0 record.

The Huskies’ other first place finish went to redshirt freshman Clint Poster, who gained the top spot at 157-pounds. Poster notched a 10-1 major decision over teammate Jake R. Horn in the title bout. To make it to the finals, Poster charted a major decision victory and a pin in his two opening bouts.

At 141-pounds, SCSU’s Jay Hildreth placed second, Matt Nelson placed third and Matt Leibforth placed fifth for the Huskies. At 149-pounds, SCSU’s Josh Howk ended his day with a second place finish while Brady Johnshoy placed fifth in the bracket. In action at 165-pounds, SCSU’s Cody Tibbetts placed second and Trey Griffin was sixth for the Huskies at 174-pounds.

Former Husky Nick Wilkes, who was wrestling unattached at the Husky Open, grabbed a first place ending at 197-pounds and current Husky Mic Berg placed fourth at the Open this year. Of note, several SCSU unattached wrestlers competed at the meet and showed well at the Husky Open in 2012.

St. Cloud State Holiday Inn/Husky Open results