Oregon State 26, North Dakota State 11

FARGO, N.D. – All three of North Dakota State’s ranked wrestlers recorded wins in a dual with No. 15 Oregon State on Sunday in the Bison Sports Arena, but it wasn’t enough for the Bison to knock off their second ranked opponent of the season. Oregon State won seven out of 10 matches to claim a 26-11 victory.

NDSU BisonNo. 5 Trent Sprenkle (125), No. 7 Steven Monk (165) and No. 16 Mac Stoll each won their matches. Sprenkle improved his unbeaten record to 9-0 on the season, while Monk and Stoll improved to 14-1 and 7-2, respectively.

In an opening match that saw three near falls, Sprenkle emerged victorious with a 13-12 decision over the Beavers’ Joey Palmer to give the Bison a 3-0 lead.

Oregon State’s Drew Van Anrooy recorded a 9-6 decision over NDSU freshman Josh Rodriguez at 133 pounds, and the Beavers followed up with three consecutive victories from No. 4 Mike Mangrum, No. 8 Scott Sakaguchi and No. 10 RJ Pena at 141, 149 and 157 pounds, respectively.

Monk dominated OSU’s Joe Latham from start to finish at 165 pounds, using a takedown and 14 near fall points to win by technical fall 16-0 midway through the second period. With four matches remaining the Bison trailed OSU, 17-8.

Bison sophomore Kurtis Julson dropped a 4-0 decision at 174 pounds, but senior Mac Stoll posted his second win in two tries over OSU’s Ty Vinson at 184 pounds, and his 7-2 decision pulled the Bison within nine at 20-11.

No. 10 Taylor Meeks and No. 6 Chad Hanke of Oregon State each recorded decisions to close out the dual, setting the final margin at 26-11.

North Dakota State will return to the mat in Ames, Iowa, on Sunday, Dec. 16, when the Bison take on Iowa State in a dual.

No. 15 Oregon State 26, North Dakota State 11
125 – No. 5 Trent Sprenkle (NDSU) dec. Joey Palmer (OSU), 13-12
133 – Drew Van Anrooy (OSU) dec. Josh Rodriguez (NDSU), 9-6
141 – No. 4 Mike Mangrum (OSU) maj. dec. Mark Erickson (NDSU), 17-5
149 – No. 8 Scott Sakaguchi (OSU) fall Joe Garner (NDSU), 4:07
157 -No. 10 RJ Pena (OSU) maj. dec. Hayden Zillmer (NDSU), 12-2
165 -No. 7 Steven Monk (NDSU) tech. fall Joe Latham (OSU), 16-0 (3:55)
174 – Cody Weishoff (OSU) dec. Julson (NDSU), 4-0
184 – No. 16 Mac Stoll (NDSU) dec. Ty Vinson (OSU), 7-2
197 – No. 10 Taylor Meeks (OSU) dec. Kallen Kleinschmidt (NDSU), 14-9
Hwt – No. 6 Chad Hanke (OSU) dec. Evan Knutson (NDSU), 10-4

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?