Augustana 27, Mary 16

Vikings open NSIC competition with 27-16 win at U-Mary

BISMARCK, N.D. – Augustana opened Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference duals with a 27-16 victory over University of Mary on Sunday afternoon. The Vikings are 4-1 in duals, 1-0 in NSIC action and the Marauders are 1-1 overall, 1-1 in NSIC action.

Augustana VikingsWith Sunday’s victory, head coach Jason Reitmeier notched his 99th career victory and is in second at Augustana behind Paul Kendle’s 154 career wins.

TJ North and Jeremiah Peterson gave the Vikings a big lead both wining by pinfall. North pinned his opponent in 4:12. At 133-pounds Peterson downed his opponent in 4:25 and the Vikings led the Marauders 12-0 after the first two matches.

Fifth-ranked Nate Herda won his 149 pound match 13-10 after Zach Friederich lost by major decision 13-3. Shawn Hatlested was then edged out in a close match, 3-2, in the 157-pound division and the Vikings led 15-7 halfway through the dual.

Parker Swanson was injured in his match and the Marauder wrestler was given the default victory, closing the Vikings’ team score margin to 15-13.

In the 174-pound match Tim Weber took down U-Mary’s Devito in overtime 5-3 and gave the Vikings a larger cushion 18-13.

Jeff Nielsen lost 2-1 on riding time to bring the Marauders within two at 18-16.

Ranked fifth in the 197-pound class, Jayd Docken won by forfeit and secured Augustana its fourth victory of the season with a 24-16 with one match remaining.

Heavyweight Brian Schultz iced the Marauders with a 10-3 victory and gave the Vikings a 27-16 victory.

Augustana returns to the mat Jan. 12 for the National Wrestling Coaches Association/Cliff Keen National Duals.

Augustana 27 University of Mary 16
125: TJ North (Augustana) wins by pinfall at 4:12 over Jordan Eckholm (U-Mary).
133: Jeremiah Peterson (Augustana) wins by pinfall at 4:25 over Hunter Menendez (U-Mary).
141: #3 Trevor Johnson (U-Mary) wins 13-3 major decision over Zach Friederich (Augustana).
149: Nate Herda (Augustana) wins by 13-10 decision over Landon Della Silva (U-Mary).
157: Collin Engelhardt (U-Mary) wins 3-2 decision over Shawn Hatlestad (Augustana).
165: Brock Krumm (U-Mary) wins by medical default at 0:30 over Parker Swanson (Augustana).
174: Tim Weber (Augustana) wins 5-3 decision in overtime over John Devito (U-Mary).
184: Brady Anderson (U-Mary) wins 2-1 decision over Jeff Nielsen (Augie)
197: Jayd Docken (Augie) wins over OPEN (U-Mary)
285: Brian Schultz (Augustana) wins 10-3 decision over Levi Roemmich (U-Mary)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?