Minnesota 41, Indiana 3

Minnesota Tallies Three Pins En Route to 41-3 Routing of Indiana

Wrapping up a weekend of Big Ten action, the No. 3 Minnesota wrestling team (10-1, 4-0 B1G) defeated Indiana (6-4, 0-2) in a dominating 41-3 performance this afternoon in Bloomington, Ind. Dylan Ness (149 lbs.), Logan Storley (174 lbs.), and Scott Schiller (197 lbs.) all tallied pins in their respective weight classes to pad Minnesota’s team score with bonus points.

David Thorn once again started the match at 125 lbs., taking Indiana’s Joe Duca to a 7-4 decision. At 133 lbs., Alonzo Shepherd kept the pressure on Chris Dardanes but the Gopher denied every attempt and boosted the score with consecutive takedowns of his own. With 12 seconds left, Dardanes went in for the pin but Sheperd fought him off. Dardanes took a three-point near fall to end with a 20-6 major decision.

Nick Dardanes followed in the 141-pound weight class and gathered up a 7-1 score over Eric Roach before winning the bout by injury default. Down 6-3 to Preston Keiffer in the second period, Dylan Ness scrambled for a reversal and countered to force a fall at the 4:22 mark.

Indiana found its only points in the 157 bout where Taylor Walsh defeated Minnesota’s Danny Zilverberg. Tied 7-7, Zilverberg went in for a shot but time ran out before he could capitalize. Walsh took the decision with an additional point for riding time.

At 165 lbs., Cody Yohn and Ryan LeBlanc fought it out in an overtime bout. After regulation, the score remained tied at one. Three extra periods in, Yohn flipped LeBlanc to his back for a takedown and a two-point near fall for the sudden victory. Logan Storley maintained control over IU’s Cheney Dale at 174 lbs. In the second period, Storley demonstrated two titles for five near-fall back points before notching his third pin of the season on his third tilt attempt (4:14).

Big hitters Kevin Steinhaus, Scott Schiller, and Tony Nelson closed out the match for the Gophers. Steinhaus kept a consistent aggressive attack against Lucas Sheridan for a 12-4 major decision. Schiller was the final Gopher of the night to score a fall over his opponent, Tarek Alaruri, at 3:24, while Nelson marked a 4-1 final over Adam Chalfant in the heavyweight competition.

Next up, the Maroon and Gold return home to face Illinois on Jan. 21. The match will be broadcast on Big Ten Network at 7:30 p.m. CT as part of the channel’s featured match-up.

#4 Minnesota 41, Indiana 3
125: #11 David Thorn (Minn) dec Joe Duca (Ind) 7-4
133: #6 Chris Dardanes (Minn) maj. dec. Alonzo Sheperd (Ind) 21-7
141: #9 Nick Dardanes (Minn) inj. def. Eric Roach (Ind)
149: #5 Dylan Ness (Minn) fall Preston Keiffer (Ind) 4:22
157: #11 Taylor Walsh (Ind) dec. #24 Danny Zilverberg (Minn) 8-7
165: #12 Cody Yohn (Minn) dec. #10 Ryan LeBlanc (Ind) 6-1 sv2
174: #2 Logan Storley (Minn) fall Cheney Dale (Ind) 4:14
184: #5 Kevin Steinhaus (Minn) maj. dec. Luke Sheridan (Ind) 12-4
197: #11 Scott Schiller (Minn) fall Tarek Alaruri (Ind) 5:24
285: #2 Tony Nelson (Minn) dec. #11 Adam Chalfant (Ind) 4-1

Minnesota Gophers