MSU-Moorhead at Grand Canyon Duals

MSUM Wrestlers Go 3-1 at Grand Canyon Duals

PHOENIX, Ariz. — Sophomore Philippe Walker and redshirt freshman Jesse Puncochar each went 4-0 to lead the Minnesota State University Moorhead wrestling team to a 3-1 record at the Grand Canyon Duals Saturday in Phoenix, Ariz.

MSU-Moorhead DragonsMSUM (5-2 duals) beat California Baptist, 27-18, the Colorado School of Mines, 24-16 and Simon Fraser, 29-19 before losing a tough 22-19 match to No. 6-ranked Grand Canyon to end the day.

Puncochar (174 pounds) won one match by fall, one by major decision and two by decision for MSUM, while Walker (133 pounds) won one by major decision, two by decision and one by injury default. Four Dragons also went 3-1 on the day: seniors Jacob Bennett (157 pounds) and Kerron Williams (165) and juniors Angel Vega (141) and Casey Williams (149).

Against Cal Baptist, junior Matt Lewellen earned a win by fall for MSUM, while Casey Williams won by technical fall. Kerron Williams and Puncochar each won by major decision, while Walker and Bennett both won by decision.

Against Colorado Mines, sophomore Gerad Fugleberg won by fall at heavyweight to help the Dragons clinch the win. Walker won by injury default, while Vega, Casey Williams, Kerron Williams and Puncochar all claimed wins by decision.

Pins from Puncochar and Vega highlighted the Dragons’ win over Simon Fraser. Walker and Lewellen each won by major decision for MSUM, while Kerron Williams won by decision. Bennett won by forfeit as well.

In the loss to Grand Canyon, MSUM led 19-9 heading into the final three weights before the Antelopes rallied for the win. Bennett won by major decision and Casey Williams won by injury default for MSUM, while Walker, Vega and Puncochar won by decision.

MSUM returns home to host Northern State on Saturday, Jan. 12 to open the NSIC season. The dual begins at 3 p.m. at Alex Nemzek Hall in Moorhead, Minn.

MSU Moorhead 27, Cal Baptist 18
125-Taylor Hall (CBU) tech. fall Mitch Dunlap, 16-1
133-Philippe Walker (MSUM) dec. Dakota Thayer, 6-2
141-Bradford Gerl (CBU) maj. dec. Angel Vega, 11-2
149-Casey Williams (MSUM) tech. fall Alex Smith, 18-2
157-Jacob Bennett (MSUM) dec. Paul Miller, 7-2
165-Kerron Williams (MSUM) maj. dec. Anthony Ballinger, 13-1
174-Jesse Puncochar (MSUM) maj. dec. Kenneth Tribble, 12-1
184-Matt Lewellen (MSUM) pinned Paul Head, 4:59
197-David Bill (CBU) dec. Lucas Moderow, 7-3
Hwt.-Zach Merrill (CBU) pinned Gerad Fugleberg

MSU Moorhead 24, Colorado Mines 16
125-Luis Gurule (CSM) def. Mitch Dunlap, injury default
133-Walker (MSUM) def. Robby Schultheis, injury default
141-Vega (MSUM) dec. Isaac Elge, 6-1
149-C. Williams (MSUM) dec. Austin Cordova, 3-2
157-John Crowley (CSM) dec. Jacob Bennett, 3-2
165-K. Williams (MSUM) dec. Justin Frazer, 9-5
174-Puncochar (MSUM) dec. Chance Davis, 6-1
184-Ryan Swanson (CSM) maj. dec. Lewellen, 11-0
197-Paul Wilson (CSM) dec. Moderow, 7-0
Hwt.-Fugleberg (MSUM) pinned Alex Mackenzie, 1:52

MSU Moorhead 29, Simon Fraser 19
125-Skylor Davis (SF) won by forfeit
133-Walker (MSUM) maj. dec. Sukhan Chahal, 17-3
141-Vega (MSUM) pinned Dillon Hume, 1:38
149-Alex Stemer (SF) dec. C. Williams, 6-3
157-Bennett (MSUM) won by forfeit
165-K. Williams (MSUM) dec. Brock Lamb, 4-3
174-Puncochar (MSUM) pinned Cody Coombe, 2:19
184-Lewellen (MSUM) maj. dec. Manvir Sahota, 11-3
197-Sanjay Rekhi (SF) maj. dec. Matt Beehler, 14-4
Hwt.-Sunny Dhinsa (SF) pinned Gerad Fugleberg, 1:24

Grand Canyon 22, MSU Moorhead 19
125-Kyle McCrite (GC) won by forfeit
133-Walker (MSUM) dec. Lino Estrada, 8-4
141-Vega (MSUM) dec. Mike Hamel, 5-4
149-C. Williams (MSUM) def. Bobby Ward, injury default
157-Bennett (MSUM) maj. dec. Austen Moore, 15-4
165-Juan C. Maynes (GC) dec. K. Williams, 7-6
174-Puncochar (MSUM) dec. Martin Fabbian, 7-6
184-Brett Sanchez (GC) dec. Lewellen, 5-2
197-Marcus Haughian (GC) maj. dec. Moderow, 10-0
Hwt.- Tyrell Fortune (GC) pinned Fugleberg, 1:29

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?