NCAA DII wrestling region brackets announced

WATERLOO, IOWA – The brackets have been set for the 2013 NCAA Division II Wrestling Super Regional 3 on Sunday at Young Arena in Waterloo, Iowa.

First-round matches begin at 10 a.m., and the finals start at 7 p.m. Doors will open to the public at 9 a.m.


This year’s NCAA Super Regional features 13 teams and nearly 130 wrestlers. Super Regional Three participants include Augustana, Indianapolis, U-Mary, Maryville, Minnesota State, MSU Moorhead, Minot State, Newman (Kan.), Northern State, Southwest Minnesota State, St. Cloud State, Upper Iowa and Wisconsin-Parkside.

The top four place winners in each weight class will advance to the NCAA Championship in Birmingham, Ala., on March 8 and 9.

Tickets are $10 for adults and $5 for students (K-12 and college with ID) and admission is free for children under two.  Tickets can be purchased online anytime or at the door on Sunday.

Six of the 13 teams in this year’s Super Regional are nationally ranked and two more are receiving votes, while 27 individuals are ranked in their respective weight classes including four ranked wrestlers at the 133, 184 and 197 pound weight classes.

To view the official tournament home page, click here.  Brackets and team scores will be updated following each round.  Join the conversation displayed along the left side of the tournament home page by using #DIIWRSR3 in your tweets.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?