Three Vikings going to nationals, team finishes seventh at regional

WATERLOO, Iowa – Augustana placed seventh at the Super Regional Three Championship and qualified three wrestlers for the NCAA Championship Sunday.

The Vikings racked up 68.5 team points while St. Cloud State earned the regional title with 140.5 team points and Upper Iowa took second scoring 95.5 team points.

Augustana VikingsJayd Docken was Augustana’s highest finisher at the Super Region Three Tournament, notching a third-place finish at 197 pounds.

Nate Herda will make his fourth consecutive trip to the NCAA Championships after finishing fourth at 149 pounds.

Sean Derry qualified for nationals with a fourth-place finish for the Vikings at 184 pounds. Derry will be making his second consecutive appearance at the NCAA Championships.

Docken earned third-place with a 6-4 decision over Wisconsin-Parkside’s Davien Willis. Docken is making his second straight appearance at the NCAA Championships.

Derry fought his way through the wrestle-back bracket and lost the third-place match in a 10-5 decision to Upper Iowa’s Mitch Schultz.

After losing in the semifinals, Herda made his way back to the third-place bout through the wrestle-back bracket and lost his final bout in a 7-6 decision to Cameryn Brady of Indianapolis.

Shawn Hatlestad and Brian Schultz each earned fifth-place finishes for the Vikings. Hatlestad earned a 4-1 decision over Minnesota State’s Sawyer Hoffman at 157 pounds and Schultz won a 3-1 decision over Minnesota State’s Corby Running to take fifth at 285 pounds.

TJ North and Brandon Charbonneau both picked up sixth-place finishes for Augustana.

The NCAA Championships will take place March 8-9 in Birmingham, Ala.

NCAA Division II Super Regional 3 results

Augustana Individual Results:

TJ North, 125 pounds Sixth Place
defeated Chris Paulus (UIU) by decision, 5-2
lost to Anthony Bruno (Northern State) by decision, 6-1
lost to Chris Paulus (UIU) by fall, 0:49

Jeremiah Peterson, 133 pounds
lost to Alphonso Vruno (MSU Moorhead) by decision, 6-0
lost to Travis Rodenbaugh (Newman) by fall, 6:34

Brandon Charbonneau, 141 pounds, Sixth Place
defeated Ian Muirhead (Northern State) by decision, 5-1
lost to Angel Vega (MSU Moorhead) by decision, 4-2
defeated Arik Yde (Wisconsin-Parkside) by decision, 3-1
defeated Matt Paulus (UIU) by decision, 6-1
lost to Matt Nelson (SCSU) by major decision, 14-3
lost to Ian Muirhead (Northern State) by decision, 10-4

Nate Herda, Fourth Place, National Qualifier
defeated Marcus Wilson (Minot) by forfeit
defeated Thomas Allen (Minnesota State) by decision, 9-4
lost to Jacob D. Horn (SCSU) by decision, 4-1
defeated Landon Della Silva (U-Mary) by decision, 9-7
lost to Cameryn Brady (Indanapolis) by decision, 7-6

Shawn Hatlestad, 157 pounds, Fifth Place
lost to Bryce Lumzy (UIU) by decision, 6-2
defeated Marcus Polak (Minot) by decision, 4-1
defeated Colton Duhr (Newman) by fall, 5:22
lost to Bryce Lumzy (UIU) by decision, 5-0
defeated Sawyer Hoffman (Minnesota State) by decision, 4-1

Parker Swanson, 165 pounds
lost to Marvio Tischhauser (Maryville) by fall, 0:43
defeated Clark Driz (Newman) by fall, 1:00
lost to Nick Fishback (Wisconsin-Parkside) by decision, 7-2

Jeff Nielsen, 174 pounds
lost to Brendan Eichmann (Minnesota State) by decision, 4-2
defeated Matt Fetterley (Minot) by decision, 4-3
lost to Shelby Mappes (Indianapolis) by decision, 3-2

Sean Derry, 184 pounds, Fourth Place, National Qualifier
defeated Matt Gille (Wisconsin-Parkside) by decision, 6-3
lost to Shamus O’Grady (SCSU) by decision, 6-2
defeated Travis Peralta (SMSU) by decision, 5-2
lost to Mitch Schultz (UIU) by decision, 10-5

Jayd Docken, 197 pounds, Third Place, National Qualifier
defeated Matt Lewellen (MSU Moorhead) by fall, 2:46
defeated Chris Brassell (SCSU) by decision, 3-2
lost to Matt Baker (Maryville) by decision, 3-2
defeated Chad Gibson (Northern State) by decision, 8-3
defeated Davien Willis (Wisconsin-Parkside) by decision, 6-4

Brian Schultz, 285 pounds, Fifth Place
lost to Matt Meuleners (Northern State) by decision, 6-0
defeated Gerad Fugleberg (MSU Moorhead) by decision, 5-3
defeated Levi Roemmich (U-Mary) by decision, 3-1
defeated Bob Bartz (Minot State) by decision, 2-1
lost to Evan Wooding (Indianapolis) by decision, 3-1
defeated Corby Running (Minnesota State) by decision, 3-1

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?