Nine Still Alive as Storley and Nelson Advance to Semifinals

Minnesota remains in third with 49.5 points

Logan Storley (174 lbs.) and Tony Nelson (HWT) have advanced to the semifinals of the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa. Both will wrestle in tonight’s semifinal showdown here at Wells Fargo Arena. In addition, seven other Gophers have avoided elimination to remain in the consolation contest. The nine total representatives are the most of any school at the national tournament as Iowa, Penn State, and Oklahoma State only boast seven.

Minnesota GophersIn the team race, the Golden Gophers hold steady in third place with 49.5 total points. Penn State holds onto a commanding lead with 77.5 team points. Oklahoma State rides along in second place with 65.5 points. Iowa is in fourth with 39 points, while Missouri rounds out the top five with 38.5 points.

Storley earned his spot in the semifinals with a narrow 3-2 win over Big Ten rival Mike Evans. Storley, the No. 6 seed, defeated the No. 3-seeded Evans and will battle Penn State’s Matt Brown tonight for a place in the championships

No. 2 Nelson outlasted No. 10 Jarod Trice in another tight match. He edged the Central Michigan wrestler by a score of 1-0 to continue his quest for back-to-back titles. Next to tackle is Oklahoma State’s Alen Gelogaev.

Along with the semifinalists, David Thorn, Chris Dardanes, Nick Dardanes, Dylan Ness, Cody Yohn, Kevin Steinhaus, and Scott Schiller will all have matches tonight.

C. Dardanes, Yohn, and Schiller, each fell in the quarterfinal matches to end their runs and move to the consolation bracket. Dardanes dropped an 11-7 decision to A.J. Schopp after Schopp ran ahead early and left Dardanes scrambling to catch up. No. 11 Yohn put up a fight against No. 3 Peter Yates, even taking him to the double tiebreaker before Yates scored a takedown in the final seconds. At 197 lbs., Penn State’s Quentin Wright caught Schiller on his back for the fall at 2:49.

Thorn, N. Dardanes, Ness, and Steinhaus each went 2-0 on the day to stay alive in the wrestleback competition. Ness and Dardanes will face opponents they have already seen this year, Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska) and Michael Mangrum (Oregon State), respectively. Thorn and Steinhaus will meet new faces in Appalachian State’s Dominic Parisi and Maryland’s Jimmy Sheptock.

Danny Zilverberg was the only Gopher to be eliminated from the competition. After notching a 6-0 decision over Missouri’s Kyle Bradley, Zilverberg fell 6-4 to James Fleming (Clarion) to end his outstanding performance at the championships.

Tonight’s rounds will determine the tournaments All-Americans as the top eight finishers in each bracket will earn the honorable status.

Action will pick up again tonight at 6 p.m. CT with the semifinal bouts and two rounds of consolation. Fans will be able to follow through live video on ESPNU and live stats at Also be sure to follow along with the Dual Day Live Blog for insider details on the competition.

Friday Morning Session 3 Results

Championship Quarterfinals

133 #4 A.J. Schopp (Edinboro) dec. #5 Chris Dardanes (Minnesota) 11-7
165 #3 Peter Yates (Virginia Tech) dec. #11 Cody Yohn (Minnesota) 5-3 sv2
174 #6 Logan Storley (Minnesota) dec. #3 Michael Evans (Iowa) 3-2
197 #2 Quentin Wright (Penn State) fall #10 Scott Schiller (Minnesota) 2:48
285 #2 Anthony Nelson (Minnesota) dec. #10 Jarod Trice (Central Michigan) 1-0

Consolation Round 2

125 David Thorn (Minnesota) fall William Watterson (Brown) 5:32
141 #8 Nick Dardanes (Minnesota) dec. Daniel Neff (Lock Haven) 8-3
149 #6 Dylan Ness (Minnesota) fall Alex Hudson (Chattanooga) 2:30
157 Daniel Zilverberg (Minnesota) dec Kyle Bradley (Missouri) 6-0
184 #5 Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota) maj. dec. Ophir Bernstein (Brown) 13-5

Consolation Round 3

125 David Thorn (Minnesota) fall Steve Bonanno (Hofstra) 5:00
149 #6 Dylan Ness (Minnesota) dec. Raymond Borja (Navy) 9-2
141 #8 Nick Dardanes (Minnesota) dec. Steven Keith (Harvard) 7-4
157 #5 James Fleming (Clarion) dec. Daniel Zilverberg (Minnesota) 6-4
184 #5 Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota) dec. Mason Bailey (Navy) 4-1

Tonight’s Matchups:

Championship Semifinals

174 #6 Logan Storley (Minnesota) vs #2 Mathew Brown (Penn State)
285 #2 Anthony Nelson (Minnesota) vs #3 Alan Gelogaev (Oklahoma St.)

Consolation Bracket

125 David Thorn (Minnesota) vs Dominic Parisi (Appalachian S.)
133 #5 Chris Dardanes (Minnesota) vs #10 Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan)
141 #8 Nick Dardanes (Minnesota) vs #3 Michael Mangrum (Oregon St.)
149 #6 Dylan Ness (Minnesota) vs #9 Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska)
165 #11 Cody Yohn (Minnesota) vs John Staudenmayer (North Carolina)
184 #5 Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota) vs #7 Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland)
197 #10 Scott Schiller (Minnesota) vs Mario Gonzalez (Illinois)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?