Short named MWCA Mr. Minnesota of Wrestling

The Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association today named Jake Short of Simley High School in Inver Grove Heights as Mr. Minnesota, 2013. He is a four-time state champion and a five-time state place-winner, finishing his six-year career with a record of 235 wins and just 20 losses.

Jake Short. Photo by Mary Christen.

Members of the selection committee stated that this may have been the deepest pool of candidates in the history of the award, with several multiple-time state champions graduating this season. Candidates are considered based on their performance over the course of their careers, as well as how they present themselves both on and off the mat. Committee members also stated that this was probably the most difficult decision since the MWCA began naming a ‘Mr. Minnesota’ back in 1991.

Short was dominant this season, capping his career with a state championship at 152 pounds, while accumulating a record of 48-0. He is currently the #1-ranked high school wrestler in the nation, according to the most recent Intermat rankings, and has signed with the University of Minnesota to wrestle next season.

Mr. Minnesota Wrestler Winners

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?