Viking’s Docken earns All-America honors at NCAA Championships

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Augustana sophomore Jayd Docken registered a sixth place finish at the NCAA Wrestling Championships earning All-America status.

Augustana has had 110 wrestlers earn All-America honors and Docken is the 42nd wrestler to earn All-America status under head coach Jason Reitmeier.

Augustana VikingsDocken made his way to the semifinal bout of the 197-pound bracket earning two wins on Friday. The sophomore, ranked fifth in the country at 197 pounds, opened the championships with a 3-1 overtime victory over fourth-ranked Joseph Brandt (Ashland University).

Docken then made his way to the semifinals with a 5-0 decision over Vinny Campanile of Kutztown University.

In his first bout on Saturday, Docken squared-off with eighth-ranked Romero Cotton of Nebraska-Kearney and lost a 6-1 decision. He then moved to the consolation bracket semifinal match and lost a 9-1 major decision to Upper Iowa’s Carl Broghammer.

In his final bout at the NCAA Championships, Docken lost a 5-3 overtime decision to Wisconsin-Parkside’s Davion Willis.

Nate Herda also competed at the NCAA Championships for the Vikings. Herda went 1-2 on Friday and ended the season at 28-8. The senior opened action losing a 3-2 decision to the defending national champion at 149 pounds, Raufeon Stots (Nebraska-Kearney). Herda bounced back with a 12-4 major decision victory over Mitch Voelker of Kutztown.

Herda’s run came to an end after he lost a 3-2 decision to Deral Brown of Newberry College.

Sean Derry also qualified for the NCAA Wrestling Championships but withdrew due to injury.

197 – Jayd Docken, 6th place, All-America
Champ. Round 1 – Jayd Docken won in sudden victory over Joseph Brandt (Ashland University), 3-1
Quarterfinal – Jayd Docken won by decision over Vinny Campanile (Kutztown), 5-0
Semifinal – Romero Cotton (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Jayd Docken, 8-4
Cons. Semi – Carl Broghammer (Upper Iowa) won by major decision over Jayd Docken, 9-1
5th Place Match – Davion Willis (Wisconsin-Parkside) won in sudden victory over Jayd Docken, 5-3

149 – Nate Herda
Champ. Round 1 – Raufeon Stots (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Nate Herda, 3-2
Cons. Round 1 – Nate Herda won by major decision over Mitch Voelker (Kutztown), 12-4
Cons. Round 2 – Deral Brown (Newberry) won by decision over Nate Herda, 3-2