NCWA Names All-Academic Team

By Scott Farrell

DALLAS – The National Collegiate Wrestling Association, in conjunction with the National Wrestling Coaches Association, honored 152 wrestlers with certificates this week recognizing them as its top student-athletes for the 2012-13 season. This season’s NCWA All-Academic Team contains scholars from 66 schools from the NCWA’s combined Division I and Division II ranks. The women’s division honored six student-athletes.

The coaches association sponsors the NCWA’s academic awards as well as those for the NCAA, NAIA and NJCAA.

“It’s always exciting for us to recognize our top scholars and student-athletes,” NCWA executive director Jim Giunta said. “We congratulate this year’s All-Academic Team for their fine work. As an association that is all about providing life opportunities through wrestling, the NCWA has a very high regard for those who achieve in the classroom as well as in competition. These are our future leaders.”

Central Florida and West Chester led the NCWA with six members each on the All-Academic Team, topping a list of an elite 12 schools that contributed more than one-third (56) of the honorees. California Baptist, Massachusetts, South Florida and The Apprentice School each had five members on the list, and Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Michigan, New Hampshire and Stony Brook had four members each.

The complete list of honorees is below, alphabetized within the name of their school.


Name – School
Alana Jimenez – Lindenwood-Belleville
Cindy Kuang – San Jose State
Kathy Zhou – San Jose State
Jasmine Grant – South Florida
Katy Dawson – Southwestern Oregon Community College
Sarah Mueller – Winona State

Name – School
Jacob Dolifka – Alabama
Josh Lyle – Albany
Theo Agbi – Amherst College
Fadi Hamati – Amherst College
Travis Dickenson – Amherst College
Travis Herald – Bridgewater College
Zach Merrill – California Baptist
Jacob Fry – California Baptist
Zach McKenna – California Baptist
Paul Miller – California Baptist
Alec Smith – California Baptist
Maximilian Becks – Central Florida
Santiago Martinez – Central Florida
William Mitchell – Central Florida
Nick Petrovcik – Central Florida
Matt Vaughn – Central Florida
Tyrell Walker – Central Florida
Dalton Baunsgard – Central Washington
Nick Bendon – Central Washington
Adam Raemer – Central Washington
Robbie Driscoll – Cincinnati
Cameron Fox – Colorado State
Ben Pfotenhauer – Colorado State
Nathan Streithorst – Colorado State
Andrey Dementyev – Connecticut
Anthony Josie – Connecticut
Morgan Tarleton – Connecticut
Kenechi Unachukwu – Connecticut
James Carlucci – Delaware
Joe Francolino – Delaware
Brendan Hastings – Delaware
Alex Zwier – Delaware
Brian Curtis – Dixie State
Matt McDonald – Dixie State
Ian McKinley – East Tennessee State
Nicholas Shields – East Tennessee State
Joseph Cordes – Eastern Washington
Levi Koetje – Eastern Washington
Mason Macfarlene – Eastern Washington
Cody Gerhart – Florida
Brandon Russakiss – Florida
Joshua Weinberg – Florida
Sergio Ardila –
Jackson Govatos – Georgia
Geoff Rapp – Georgia
Christopher Haysaw – Georgia Southern
Shaun Scruggs – Georgia Southern
Frank Bastien – Grand Valley State
Andrew Stepanovich – Grand Valley State
Ben DiGiovanni – Illinois State
Luke Pigott – Illinois State
Ryan Pokrywka – Illinois State
Austin Fallon – James Madison
Stefan Haas – James Madison
Alex Amador – Lafayette College
Jonathan Dempsey – Lafayette College
Jacob Hood – Liberty
Derrick Grieshaber – Lindenwood – Belleville
Cullen Halpin – Lindenwood – St. Charles
Jacob Janes – Lindenwood – St. Charles
Randy Huber – Maryland-Baltimore County
Kekura Musa – Maryland-Baltimore County
Erik Brugnoli-Ensin – Massachusetts
Kevin Dillon – Massachusetts
Max Jacobs – Massachusetts
Sam Quoos – Massachusetts
Brian Stapleton – Massachusetts
Tyler Laprade – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ryan Madson – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sam Shames – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Bee Vang – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Brendan Murphy – McKendree
Wesley Adams – Mercer
Charlie Farr – Mercer
Daniel Blumer – Michigan
Alex Engebretson – Michigan
William Lamping – Michigan
William Royster – Michigan
Daniel Loyd – Michigan-Dearborn
Anthony Patnode – Middle Tennessee State
Jonathan Roberts – Middle Tennessee State
Travis Fletcher – Mott Community College
Peter Guy – New Hampshire
Gabriel Horton – New Hampshire
Mark Tonrey – New Hampshire
Ian Wedemeyer – New Hampshire
Chad Baumann – North Florida
Caleb Duke – North Florida
Stuart Maddox – North Florida
Jason Dack – Northeastern
Dray Carl – Northwest Missouri State
Charles Hulke – Northwest Missouri State
Mitch Kliegl – Northwest Missouri State
Evan Heffron – Penn State
Tyler Malys – Penn State
Johnny Novak – Penn State
Clifford Hill – Penn State – DuBois
James Melnyk – Penn State – New Kensington
Paul Crutchlow – Pennsylvania College of Technology
Daniel Albamonte – Pittsburgh
Ramsey Hanna – Pittsburgh
Will Bonagura – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
John Moyle – Rutgers
Matt Thorn – Rutgers
Casey Rubinoff – Sacramento State
Shane Kerbelis – Saginaw Valley State
Keith Williams – Sam Houston State
Vincent Camps – Slippery Rock
Mike Ahern – South Carolina
Ben Brummell – South Carolina
Steven Fowler – South Carolina
Ryan Hall – South Florida
Josh Jefferies – South Florida
Zachary Morales – South Florida
Shannon Smith – South Florida
Wyeth Whitehurst – South Florida
Kasra Benizad – Southern California
Armand Farrokh – Southern California
Joshua Hall – Southern Virginia
Coulter Sims – Southern Virginia
Robert Beneventano – Stony Brook
Dylan Clay – Stony Brook
Michael Downer – Stony Brook
Matt Frey – Stony Brook
John DeMis – Texas
Michael Mahoney – Texas
Josiah Borden – Texas-Pan American
Moises Lopez – Texas-Pan American
Tyare Ford – The Apprentice School
Kevin Gray – The Apprentice School
Ian Jones – The Apprentice School
Dwayne Roes – The Apprentice School
Kyle Spruill – The Apprentice School
Spencer Buettner – Virginia Military Institute
David Stratton – Washington State
Eric Held – Wayne State
Eric Timmerman – Wayne State
Chadd Baribault – West Chester
Edward Berry – West Chester
Yusuf Hayes – West Chester
Morgan Hoffman – West Chester
Myles Tornetta – West Chester
Terrell Waters – West Chester
Dakota Denny – Wichita State
Eric Albrecht – William and Mary
Matt Lamb – William and Mary
Michael Robinson – Yale

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?